Meet the Council

Read about the talented people who comprise the chapter's Council and learn about their roles and responsibilities.

Jon Van Der Veer, DO, FACP – Treasurer and Chair, Health & Public Policy
Andrea Weber, MD, MME - Chair, Membership
Steven Joyce, MD, FACP - Chair, Chapter Awards
Jana Mishler/Sarah Luebbert - - Chapter Executive Director

Chapter Treasurer

The treasurer works closely with the Governor, council, and chapter staff to monitor banking activity, review tax filings, help determine investment options, offer suggestions on how to increase revenue or spend excess reserves, and present a yearly budget to the council and chapter members. Currently, more than 71 chapters (95.9%) have a treasurer. The treasurer of the chapter chairs the Finance Committee and helps establish the chapter's dues rate, monitor income and expenditures, and ensure that appropriate financial statements (e.g. taxes) are prepared.

Dr. Van Der Veer is an outstanding internist who completed medical school at Des Moines University and an internal medicine residency at the UnityPoint – Iowa Methodist program. He is a founder of Exemplar Care and started a Direct Primary Care (DPC) clinic in Des Moines and is on the Board of Directors for the Iowa Medical Political Action Committee, the political arm of the Iowa Medical Society. He has been a member of ACP since 2006 and became a fellow in 2015. He has been a member of the Iowa Council since 2009 and served as Membership Chair from 2012 to 2017 and Chair of the Health and Public Policy Committee since 2017. Outside of medicine related activities, Dr. Van Der Veer spends time with his wife, Dr. Emily Haines, and his two young daughters, Hazel and Clara. Collectively, they spend a great deal of time at the pool, public parks, and just hanging out. Additionally, he is an avid, albeit, mediocre golfer!

Chapter Executive Director

The Executive Director assists the Governor and the Council in formulating the Chapter’s mission, goals, objectives and related policies and is responsible for their implementation. The Executive Director has general management of the business of the Chapter in accordance with the adopted policies, direction and instruction of the Governor and the Council. The Director serves as main point of contact between the Chapter and the National Office, oversees chapter activities, financial resources and interacts with outside organizations. The Director also provides administrative support to maintain council and committee activities as well as facilitating communication with Chapter members.

The Iowa Chapter has been blessed with a history of outstanding administrative support. For the past 4 years, Jana Mishler has been as our Executive Director and in April 2023 will pass the baton to Sarah Luebbert. Please join us in thanking Jana for her support and welcoming Sarah to our chapter.