You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are here

ACP Announces New Masters and Awardees for 2016-2017

The Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the Board of Regents has approved the following individuals and institutions to receive College awards and Masterships during the 2017 Internal Medicine Meeting.

If you would like to personally congratulate any of the new awardees or Masters, please contact Meghann Williams, Administrator, Awards Program, by e-mail at, 800-523-1546, ext. 2714 or 215-351-2714.

Please join us in congratulating the awardees and new Masters.

John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine
J. Larry Jameson, MD, MACP
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine
Philip Greenland, MD 
Chicago, Illinois 

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians
Phyllis A. Guze, MD, MACP
Los Angeles, California

American College of Physicians Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine
John A. Hansen, MD
Seattle, Washington

Daniel J. Rader, MD, FACP
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Edward R. Loveland Memorial Award
Beverley H. Johnson
Bethesda, Maryland

Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award
John E. Bennett, MD, MACP
Potomac, Maryland

Angeline A. Lazarus, MD, MACP
Rockville, Maryland

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion of a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients
Charles J. Hatem, MD 
Newtonville, Massachusetts

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award for Outstanding Contributions to Humanism in Medicine 
Jerome E. Groopman, MD, FACP
Boston, Massachusetts

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award
Edward B. Ruby, MD, FACP
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service
Karen B. DeSalvo, MD, MPH, MSc
Washington, District of Columbia

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service
Reynold S. Agard, MD, FACP
Newark, Delaware

Alvan R. Feinstein Award
Mary-Claire Roghmann, MD, MS
Baltimore, Maryland

Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians
Michail S. Lionakis, MD
Washington, District of Columbia

Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award
Eric Chow, MD
Providence, Rhode Island

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator
Robert L. Trowbridge Jr., MD, FACP
Portland, Maine

W. Lester Henry Award for Diversity and Access to Care
William H. Salazar, MD, FACP
Augusta, Georgia

Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award for Contributions in Diabetes
James R. Sowers, MD, FACP
Columbia, Missouri

ACP Award for Distinguished Contributions to Behavioral Medicine
Daniel P. Alford, MD, MPH, FACP
Needham, Massachusetts

ACP Award for Outstanding Educator of Residents and Fellows
Paul E. Marik, MBBCh, M. Med., FACP
Norfolk, Virginia

Steven E. Weinberger Award for Physician Executives/Leaders
Jordan J. Cohen, MD, MACP
Palm Beach, Florida


Jeffrey L. Berenberg, MD, MACP
Kaneohe, Hawaii

Nora Valeria Bergasa, MD, MACP
New York, New York

Ruth E. Berggren, MD, MACP
San Antonio, Texas

Glenn J. Bingle, MD, MACP
Indianapolis, Indiana

Patricia A. Bomba, MD, MACP
Pittsford, New York

George J. Bosl, MD, MACP
Syosset, New York

Major W. Bradshaw, MD, MACP
Houston, Texas

John B. Bulger, DO, MACP
Danville, Pennsylvania

John M. Carethers, MD, MACP
Ann Arbor, Michigan

David S. Cooper, MD, MACP
Baltimore, Maryland

William A. Curry, MD, MACP
Birmingham, Alabama

Anne B. Curtis, MD, MACP
Buffalo, New York

Nitin S. Damle, MD, MS, MACP
Wakefield, Rhode Island

Stephen Neil Davis, MD, MACP
Baltimore, Maryland

Robert Dreicer, MD, MACP
Cleveland, Ohio

Richard M. Dupee, MD, MACP
Boston, Massachusetts

John R. Ebright, MD, MACP
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan

Edwin W. Grimsley, MD, MACP
Macon, Georgia

James F. Hanley, MD, MACP
Laguna Vista, Texas

Darrell W. Harrington, MD, MACP
Long Beach, California

Stuart B. Himmelstein, MD, MACP
Lake Worth, Florida

Phillip E. Hoffsten, MD, MACP
Pierre, South Dakota

Robert H. Hopkins Jr., MD, MACP
Little Rock, Arkansas

Hans-Peter Kohler, MD, MACP
Bern, Switzerland

Princy N. Kumar, MD, MACP
Washington, District of Columbia

H. Clifford Lane, MD, MACP
Cabin John, Maryland

Debra K. Litzelman, MD, MACP
Carmel, Indiana

Milton de Arruda Martins, MD, MACP
Sao Paulo, Brazil 

Barbara L. McAneny, MD, MACP
Albuquerque, New Mexico

David E. Midthun, MD, MACP
Rochester, Minnesota

Clinton K. Murray, MC USA, MACP
San Antonio, Texas

Heidi D. Nelson, MD, MACP
Portland, Oregon

John E. Nestler, MD, MACP
Richmond, Virginia

James R. O'Dell, MD, MACP
Omaha, Nebraska

John H. O'Neill Jr., DO, MACP
Middletown, Delaware

Thomas J. Olsen, MD, MACP
St. Louis, Missouri

Calvin Q. Pan, MD, MACP
Flushing, New York

Mukta Panda, MD, MACP
Chattanooga, Tennessee

Michael W. Peterson, MD, MACP
Fresno, California

Maria E. Pinto, MD, MACP
Santiago, Chile

Mark W. Purtle, MD, MACP
Des Moines, Iowa

Khalid A. Qushmaq, MD, MACP
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Daniel W. Rahn, MD, MACP
Little Rock, Arkansas

Maria A. Rodriguez, MD, MACP
Houston, Texas

Mitchell H. Rosner, MD, MACP
Charlottesville, Virginia

Gerald W. Smetana, MD, MACP
West Roxbury, Massachussets

Bruce C. Smith, MD, MACP
Issaquah, Washington

Paul A. Smith, MD, MACP
Seattle, Washington

Banu E. Symington, MD, MACP
Twin Falls, Idaho

Gary H. Tabas, MD, MACP
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Thomas G. Tape, MD, MACP
Omaha, Nebraska

Peter F. Weller, MD, MACP
Boston, Massachusetts

Mone Zaidi, MD, MACP
New York, New York