You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator

The award recognizes an ACP member who is an internal medicine interest group leader, clinical clerkship director, program director, or faculty member (no higher than the level of an associate professor of medicine) who spends a significant amount of time teaching medical students.

The Awards Committee welcomes supporting letters from the nominee’s current and former students.

Nominating and supporting letters should address:

  • Whether there are measures/indicators of the level of the nominee's commitment to students and medical education.
  • What is unique about the nominee's contributions.
  • Whether the nominee’s achievements merit local, state, national, or international recognition.
  • Whether and how the nominee's contributions have been sustained over time.
  • If applicable, how the nominee’s teaching approach supported cultural competency, recognition of health equity, diversity, and effective social determinants of care.

Established: 2003
In honor of the late Dr. Herbert S. Waxman, former ACP Senior Vice President for Medical Knowledge and Education.

Submit a Nomination

Full Lists of Recipients