You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

ACP Announces New Masters and Awardees for 2019-2020

The Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the Board of Regents has approved the following individuals and institutions to receive College awards and Masterships during the 2020 Internal Medicine Meeting.

If you would like to personally congratulate any of the new awardees or Masters, please contact Meghann Williams, Administrator, Awards Program, by e-mail at, 800-523-1546, ext. 2714 or 215-351-2714.

Please join us in congratulating the awardees and new Masters.

John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine

Tom L. Delbanco, MD, MACP
Cambridge, Massachusetts

James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine

Michael J. Barry, MD, MACP
Lexington, Massachusetts 

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians

Lynne M. Kirk, MD, MACP
Dallas, Texas

American College of Physicians Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine

Jonathan Epstein, MD
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Joseph A. Kovacs, MD
Potomac, Maryland

Edward R. Loveland Memorial Award

Bread for the City
Washington, District of Columbia

Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award

Douglas S. Paauw, MD, MACP
Redmond, Washington

David V. O’Dell, MD, MACP
Omaha, Nebraska

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion of a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients

Jean R. Sumner, MD, FACP
Macon, Georgia

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award

Franklin B. Saksena, MD, FACP
Evanston, Illinois

Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service

Gabrielle (Gabby) Giffords

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service

Richard P. Holm, MD, MACP
Brookings, South Dakota

Walter J. McDonald Award for Early Career Physicians

Tracey Henry, MD, MPH, MS, FACP
Powder Springs, Georgia

Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award

Ravi B. Parikh, MD
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator

Colleen Christmas, MD, FACP
Baltimore, Maryland

W. Lester Henry Award for Diversity and Access to Care

Valerie E. Stone, MD, MPH, MACP
Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts

Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award for Contributions in Diabetes

Gerald I. Shulman, MD, PhD, FACP
East Haven, Connecticut

ACP Award for Distinguished Contributions to Behavioral Medicine

James P. Griffith, MD, FACP
Charleston, West Virginia

ACP Award for Outstanding Educator of Residents and Fellows

Robert J. Nardino, MD, MACP
Madison, Connecticut

ACP Award for a Distinguished Contribution by ACP National or Chapter Staff

Linda A. Lambert, CAE
Albany, New York

Steven E. Weinberger Award for Physician Executives/Leaders

Risa J. Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, MACP
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Elizabeth and Emily Blackwell Award for Outstanding Contributions to Advancing the Careers of Women in Medicine

Mary D. Nettleman, MD, MACP
Sioux Falls, South Dakota


Meenakshy K. Aiyer, MBBS, MACP
Peoria, Illinois

Melver L. Anderson III, MD, MACP
Aurora, Colorado

Vineet Arora, MD, MACP
Chicago, Illinois

David M. Borne, MD, MACP
New Orleans, Louisiana

Donald D. Brown, MD, MACP
Coralville, Iowa

Nancy J. Brown, MD, MACP
Nashville, Tennessee

Fred C. Campbell Jr., MD, MACP
San Antonio, Texas

Jan K. Carney, MD, MACP
South Burlington, Vermont

Douglas M. DeLong, MD, MACP
Cherry Valley, New York

Jack A. Elias, MD, MACP
Providence, Rhode Island

Alan M. Fogelman, MD, MACP
Los Angeles, California

Richard S. Frankenstein, MD, MACP
Santa Ana, California

Victoria J. Fraser, MD, MACP
Saint Louis, Missouri

Thomas H. Gallagher, MD, MACP
Seattle, Washington

Kenneth I. Gold, MD, MACP
Beloit, Wisconsin

Stephen R. Hayes, MD, MACP
Westbrook, Maine

COL Paul A. Hemmer, MC USAF, MACP
Bethesda, Maryland

Mark C. Henderson, MD, MACP
Sacramento, California

Peter N. Herbert, MD, MACP
Branford, Connecticut

Byron J. Hoffman Jr., MD, MACP
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Irene M. Hramiak, MD, MACP
London, Ontario, Canada

Eve A. Kerr, MD, MACP
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Ashok V. Kumar, MBBS, MACP
Rapid City, South Dakota

Mary Y. Lee, MD, MACP
Belmont, Massachusetts

Catherine R. Lucey, MD, MACP
San Francisco, California

Scott Manaker, MD, PhD, MACP
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Robert M. McLean, MD, MACP
Woodbridge, Connecticut

Robert T. Means Jr., MD, MACP
Johnson City, Tennessee

William L. Medd, MD, MACP
Norway, Maine

Edith P. Mitchell, MD, MACP
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

J. Matthew Neal, MD, MBA, MACP, FACE
Muncie, Indiana

David V. O’Dell, MD, MACP
Omaha, Nebraska

Debra J. Parsons, MD, MACP
Denver, Colorado

Lawrence M. Phillips, MD, MACP
New York, New York

Michelle L. Rossi, MD, MACP
Gainsville, Florida

Sanjay K. Saint, MD, MACP
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Anne Schuchat, MD, MACP
Atlanta, Georgia

David R. Scrase, MD, MACP
Placitas, New Mexico

Nirav R. Shah, MD, MPH, MACP
Los Altos Hills, California

Ranita Sharma, MD, MACP
Englewood, New Jersey

Lawrence N. Shulman, MD, MACP
Ardmore, Pennsylvania

Christine A. Sinsky, MD, MACP
Dubuque, Iowa

R. Bradley Slease, MD, MACP
Wilmington, Delaware

Glen D. Solomon, MD, MACP
Dayton, Ohio

Molly B. Southworth, MD, MPH, MACP
Anchorage, Alaska

Scott M. Stevens, MD, MACP
Murray, Utah

Katsuhiko Takabayashi, MD, MACP
Matsudo, Japan

Dominick Tammaro, MD, MACP
Providence, Rhode Island

Melinda Wharton, MD, MACP
Atlanta, Georgia

Patience White, MD, MACP
Bethesda, Maryland

Andrew Wolf, MD, MACP
Charlottesville, Virginia

John B. Wong, MD, MACP
Belmont, Massachusetts

Stephen O. Woodruff, MD, MACP
Jonesboro, Arkansas

Jerry Yee, MD, MACP
Detroit, Michigan