ACP Announces 2022-23 Recipients of Masterships and National Awards

The Mastership Committee and Awards Committee are pleased to announce that the Board of Regents has approved the following individuals and institutions to receive College awards and Masterships for FY 2022-23. If you would like to personally congratulate any of the new awardees or MACPs, please contact John Haefele, Administrator, Board of Regents and Governance Activities, at

Please join us in congratulating the awardees and new MACPs.

John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine
Sharon K. Inouye, MD, MACP
Boston, Massachusetts

James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine
Robert B. Belshe, MD, FACP
Saint Louis, Missouri

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians
Charles Cutler, MD, MACP
Merion Station, Pennsylania

Harriet P. Dustan Award for Science as Related to Medicine
John F. DiPersio, MD, FACP
Saint Louis, Missouri

Peter J. Hotez, MD, PhD
Houston, Texas

Edward R. Loveland Memorial Award for a Distinguished Contribution in the Health Field
Asian Task Force Against Domestic Violence (ATASK)
Boston, Massachusetts

Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award
Lawrence K. Loo, MD, MACP
Redlands, California

Martin A. Samuels, MD, MACP
Boston, Massachusetts

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion of a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients
R. Curtis Mills, MD
Northville, New York

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award for Scholarly Activities in the Humanities and History of Medicine
Danielle Ofri, MD, FACP
New York, New York

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award
Stephanie M. Fosback, MD, FACP
Pullman, Washington

Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service
Rep. Kathy Castor
Tampa, Florida

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service
Will R. Ross, MD, MPH, FACP
Saint Louis, Missouri 

Alvan R. Feinstein Memorial Award
Daniel J. Morgan, MD
Baltimore, Maryland

Walter J. McDonald Award for Early Career Physicians
Avital Y. O'Glasser, FHM, MD, FACP
Portland, Oregon

Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award
Ariel A. Jordan, MD
Rochester Hills, Michigan

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator
Leigh H. Simmons, MD, FACP
Revere, Massachusetts

W. Lester Henry Award for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Jabraan S. Pasha, MD, FACP
Tulsa, Oklahoma

Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award for Contributions in Diabetes
Janet B. McGill, MD
Saint Louis, Missouri

ACP Award for Distinguished Contributions to Behavioral Medicine
Kelly S. Ramsey, MD, FACP
Olivebridge, New York

ACP Award for Outstanding Educator of Residents and Fellows
Noble M. Maleque, MD, FACP
Duluth, Georgia

ACP Award for a Distinguished Contribution by ACP National or Chapter Staff
Ann Tennett
Front Royal, Virginia

Steven E. Weinberger Award for Physician Executives/Leaders
Joia S. Mukherjee, MD
Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts

Elizabeth and Emily Blackwell Award for Outstanding Contributions to Advancing the Careers of Women in Medicine
Alan G. Wasserman, MD, MACP
Washington, District of Columbia

ACP Award for Outstanding Contributions to Improving Well-being and Professional Fulfillment in Internal Medicine
Louis S. Snitkoff, MD, MACP
Albany, New York


Patrick C. Alguire, MD, MACP
Boyne City, Michigan

Myriam Z. Allende-Vigo MD, MACP
San Juan, Puerto Rico

Daniel S. Anderson, MD, MACP
San Diego, California

Mary Zoe Baker, MD, MACP
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Sue S. Bornstein, MD, MACP
Dallas Texas

Robert H. Brook, MD, MACP
Pacific Palisades, California

John P. Burke, MD, MACP
Salt Lake City, Utah

COL Matthew Carroll, MD, MACP
Ocean Springs, Mississippi

Donald E. Casey Jr., MD, MPH, MBA, MACP
Chicago, Illinois

Jean E. Chin, MD, MACP
Watkinsville, Georgia

Kevin K. Chung, MD, MACP
Bethesda, Maryland

Amy L. Davis, DO, MACP
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania

Noel N. Deep, MD, MACP
Antigo, Wisconsin

Sanjay V. Desai, MD, MACP
Bethesda, Maryland

Joel C. Diamant, MD, MACP
Rancho Santa Fe, California

Daniel Ein, MD, MACP
Chevy Chase, Maryland

Robert L. Fine, MD, MACP
Dallas, Texas

Maureen D. Francis, MD, MACP
El Paso, Texas

Alvin N. Furuike, MD, MACP
Honolulu, Hawaii

Andrew F. Goddard, MD, MACP
Derby, Derbyshire, England, United Kingdom

Thomas C. Grau, MD, MACP
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Farzanna S. Haffizulla, MD, MACP
Davie, Florida

Thomas L. Higgins, MD, MACP
Longmeadow, Massachussetts

Daniel R. Hinthorn, MD, MACP
Leawood, Kansas

AKM Aminul Hoque, MBBS, MD, MACP
Dhaka, Bangladesh

Sharon K. Inouye, MD, MACP
Boston, Massachusetts

Jonathan V. Iralu, MD, MACP
Gallup, New Mexico

Simerjot K. Jassal, MD, MACP
San Diego, California

Felicia L. Jordan, MD, MACP
Richmond, Texas

Eric A. Larson, MD, MACP
Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Louis E. Leff, MD, MACP
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Debra S. Leizman, MD, MACP
Shaker Heights, Ohio

Bridget M. McCandless, MD, MACP
Independence, Missouri

Aileen C. McCarthy, MD, MACP
Topeka, Kansas

Michael T. McDermott, MD, MACP
Denver, Colorado

Alex J. Mechaber, MD, MACP
Miami, Florida

Parag H. Mehta, MBBS, MACP
Manhasset Hills, New York

Ryan D. Mire, MD, MACP
Nashville, Tennessee

Anand P. Panwalker, MD, MACP
Newark, Delaware

Nick J. Paslidis, MD, MACP
Sedona, Arizona

James M. Quinn, MD, MACP
San Antonio, Texas

Vijay Rajput, MBBS, MACP
Davie, Florida

Tim M. Ridgway, MD, MACP
Brandon, South Dakota

Kathleen M. Sandness, MD, MACP
Pittsburg, Kansas

Jonathan B. Shammash, MD, MACP
Tenafly, New Jersey

Jorge Sinclair, MD, MACP
Panama City, Panama

Stephen D. Sisson, MD, MACP
Baltimore, Maryland

Chittur A. Sivaram, MD, MACP
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Karen E. Szauter, MD, MACP
Galveston, Texas

Joseph F. Szot, MD, MACP
Iowa City, Iowa

Darren B. Taichman, MD, PhD, MACP
Penn Valley, Pennsylvania

Bijin Thajudeen, MD, MACP
Tucson, Arizona

Robert L. Trowbridge Jr., MD, MACP
Cape Elizabeth, Maine

G. Nicholas Verne, MD, MACP
Memphis, Tennessee

Lawrence S. Weisberg, MD, MACP
Camden, New Jersey

Shagufta Yasmeen, MBBS, MACP
Sacramento, California