Chapter Award Winners

The chapter presents at least one Laureate award each year, and often awards a recipient for their efforts in community service and volunteerism activities. Click here to view the list of other award recipients.

Laureate Award Winners

1986* Willis Lyons Bennett, FACP
G. Paul Smith, FACP
Wesley Van Camp, FACP
1987* George H. Curfman, Jr., FACP
C. Wesley Eisele, FACP
Chester P. Stevenson, FACP
1988* Nathan Clifford, MD, FACP
Leo W. Lloyd, MD, FACP
Roger Sherman Mitchell, Jr., MD, FACP
1989* Lewis Barbato, Md, FACP
Hope Lowry, MD, FACP
Harvey W. Phelps, MD, FACP
1990* J. Philip Clarke, FACP
Lynn A. James, FACP
Kenneth A. Kahn, FACP
1991 Jerry J. Appelbaum, MD, FACP
Herbert R. Brettell, MD, FACP
1992 John F. Farrington, MD, FACP
Edward S. Miller, MD, FACP
1993 Carl E. Bartecchi, MD, FACP
Gordon Meiklejohn, MD, MACP
1994 Thomas J. Chamberlain, MD, FACP
Robert V. Elliott, MD, FACP
1995 Theodore C. Eickhoff, MD, FACP
Charley J. Smyth, MD, MS, MACP
1996 Janet E. Schemmel, MD, FACP
Robert W. Schrier, MD, FACP
1997 Patricia A. Gabow, MD, FACP
Stephen F. Wallner, MD, FACP
1998 Barry G. Frank, MD, FACP
J. Stephan Kroger, MD, FACP
1999 Walter G. Briney, MD, FACP
2000 Joseph Matthews, MD, FACP
Mary Chri Gray, MD
2001 Richard Bakemeier, MD, FACP
2002 John D. Norton, MD, FACP
2003 Paul D. Miller, MD, FACP
2004 Robert A. Linden, MD, FACP
2005 Deb Parsons, MD, FACP
2006 Lawrence Feinberg, MD, FACP
2007 Robert Gibbons, MD, MACP
2008 Sterling G. West, MD, MACP
2009 Scott D. Phillips, MD, FACP, FACMT, FAACT
2009 Mark A. Levine, MD, FACP
2010 Robert J. Anderson, MD, MACP
2011 Joel S. Levine, MD, MACP
2012 Frederic B. Walker, IV, MD, FACP
2013 Heather L. Burton, MD, FACP
2014 William P. Nelson, MD, FACP, FACC
2015 Mark K. Matthews, MD, FACP
2016 Karla Demby, MD, FACP
Ted Palen, MD, FACP
2017 Allan V. Prochazka, MD, FACP
2018 Melver Anderson, III, MD, FACP
2019 Alwin F. Steinmann, MD, FACP
Robert N. Alsever, MD, FACP
2020 Christie Reimer, MD, MACP
2021 Erik A. Wallace, MD, FACP
David A. Downs, Jr., MD, FACP
2022 Jennifer Ziouras, MD, FACP
2023 Cathy Ow, MD, FACP
2024 Richard Miranda, MD, FACP


*Between 1986-1990, the award was known as the "Distinguished Internist" award.



Community Service and Volunteerism Award Winners

2000 Mary Chri Gray, MD
2003 Gary A. Friedland, MD
2007 Richard H. Miranda, MD
2008 Walter G. Briney, MD FACP
2009 Rita S. Lee, MD
2010 Christine M. Gilroy, MD, FACP
2019 Duane R. Spaulding, MD, FACP
2020 Joseph Johnson, MD
2021 Ronald S. Colson, MD, FACP
2022 Daniel Witten, MD, FACP
2023 Lisa Price, MD, FACP
2024 Ted Palen, MD, FACP


Early Career Physician Award Winners

2013 Chad R. Strickrath, MD
2014 Kathleen Ann Heist, MD
2015 Brandon P. Combs, MD, FACP
2016 Dan Matlock, MD
2017 Mary Elizabeth Anderson, MD, FACP
2018 Edward N. Murphy, MD
2021 Bradley G. Changstrom, MD
2022 Heather Cassidy, MD, FACP
2023 Brandon Fainstad, MD
2024 Juan Lessing, MD, FACP and Mugabe Walker, MD, FACP


Service to the ACP Colorado Chapter

2016 Ted E. Parks, MD

Robert Gibbons, MD, MACP Distinguished Medical Educator Award

2020 Robert Gibbons, MD, FACP, MD
2021 Suzanne L. Brandenburg, MD, FACP
2022 Karen Chacko, MD, FACP
2023 Aaron Calderon, MD, FACP
2024 Chad Stickrath, MD, FACP

Joel S. Levine, MD, MACP Distinguished Healthcare Advocate Award

2021 Joel S. Levine, MD, MACP
2022 Rita Lee, MD, FACP
2023 David Downs, MD, FACP
2024 Rebecca Hanratty, MD