Arizona Chapter Awards

Medical Student of the Year

Excellence in scholarship, interest in internal medicine and outstanding leadership in medical student activities.

2023 Donya Derakshani, Mayo Clinic
2023 Claire Faulkner, UACOM-Phoenix


Resident/Fellow of the Year

Demonstrating professionalism within the residency program, the ACP community and the medical profession.

2023 Ahsan Kamal, MD, UACOM-Phoenix


Early Career Physician of the Year

Outstanding achievement in the areas of leadership, academics, teaching and mentoring and/or volunteerism.

2023 Jennifer Nelson, DO


Educator of the Year

Exhibited exceptional skill and dedication in undergraduate medical education, graduate medical education or continuing medical education. 

2023 Gerard Chamberlin, MD, MPH


Internal Physician of the Year

For an exemplary record in patient care and dedication to the practice of Internal Medicine.

2023 Pedro Rodriguez, MD, FACP


Hospitalist of the Year

For significant contributions in the field of Hospital Medicine in the areas of critical care, patient safety, quality improvement and leadership.

2023 Vijay Hari Chandiramani, MD, FACP


Volunteerism/Community Service Award

Willingly and freely provides their time and medical services to their communities that are not required for the completion of teaching, training or position requirement. 

2023 Syamala Darira, MD


Women in Medicine

In recognition of an individual who has furthered the careers of women medical students, residents and/or physicians through mentoring and leadership development for women's career development. 

2023 Pooja Bhardwaja, MD, FACP


Leader of the Year

For creatively and courageously inspiring and directing colleagues to a more enriched professional life while demonstrating outstanding dedication tp the practice of Internal Medicine.

2023 Cheryl O'Malley, MD, MACP


Morton Fuchs Community-based Education Memorial

Presented to an ACP AZ Chapter member physician working outside of the large Arizona metropolitan areas who strives to establish working and learning partnerships among rural physicians, rural communities and students.

2023 Eladio Pereira, MD, MACP