ACP honors outstanding contributions to medicine in annual convocation ceremony

The American College of Physicians (ACP) will honor outstanding contributions to medicine at its annual convocation ceremony on Thursday, April 30, 2015, at 6:00 p.m. at the Boston Convention and Exhibition Center, where ACP hosts Internal Medicine Meeting 2015.

ACP President David Fleming, MD, MACP, will preside over the ceremony, during which 20 awardees will be honored, 55 new Masters of ACP (MACP) will be named (listed below), and more than 400 new Fellows of ACP (FACP) will be inducted.

ACP annually recognizes varied accomplishments in the world of medicine. The awardees for 2015 are:

  • John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine: Robert A. Kyle, MD, FACP, Rochester, MN
  • Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians: Donna E. Sweet, MD, MACP, Wichita, KS
  • American College of Physicians Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine: Beatrice H. Hahn, MD, Wallingford, PA
  • American College of Physicians Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine: Myron Max Levine, MD, Baltimore, MD
  • Edward R. Loveland Memorial Award for a Distinguished Contribution in the Health Field: HealthSTAT, Atlanta, GA
  • Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award: John F. Fisher, MD, MACP, Augusta, GA
  • Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award #1 from The Rosenthal Family Foundation: Thomas D. Sequist, MD, FACP, Boston, MA
  • Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award #2 from The Rosenthal Family Foundation: Mercy Care Clinic, Atlanta, GA
  • Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion of a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients: W. Mark Armstrong, MD, MACP, Dallas, TX
  • Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award for Outstanding Contributions to Humanism in Medicine: Ruth E. Berggren, MD, FACP, San Antonio, TX
  • Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award: Arnold Widen, MD, MACP, Chicago, IL
  • Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service: Representative Henry Waxman, Washington, DC
  • Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service: Larry D. Crook, MD, FACP, Seattle, WA
  • Alvan R. Feinstein Award for Patient Care in the Field of Clinical Epidemiology: Alan E. Greenberg, MD, MPH, Washington, DC
  • Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians: Jay D. Bhatt, DO, MPH, FACP, Chicago, IL
  • Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award: Mohan Ashok Kumar, MBBS, Danville, PA
  • Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator: Yolanda Mercer, MD, Tucson, AZ
  • W. Lester Henry Award for Diversity and Access to Care: Donald E. Wilson, MD, MACP, Owings Mills, MD
  • Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award for Contributions in Diabetes: Ralph A. DeFronzo, MD, FACP, San Antonio, TX
  • Arnold P. Gold Foundation ACP Award for Medical Humanism: Corwin Q. Edwards, MD, MACP, Murray, UT

New Masters of the American College of Physicians for 2014-15 (55)

For a general description of this honor, see background information below. Note: In the following listing, "MD, MACP" has been omitted to save space.

Federico G. Alfaro, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Sanjeev Arora, Albuquerque, NM
Peter Basch, Washington, DC
Georges C. Benjamin, Washington, DC
Terence M. Brady, Brooklyn, NY
Otis W. Brawley Jr., Atlanta, GA
Michael S. Bronze, Oklahoma City, OK
Arthur E. Brown, New York, NY
Thomas H. Caine, Salt Lake City, UT
Christopher M. Callahan, Indianapolis, IN
Robert M. Centor, Huntsville, AL
Robert T. Chow, Baltimore, MD
Steven R. Craig, Urbandale, IA
Harry E. Davis II, El Paso, TX
Thomas G. DeLoughery, Portland, OR
Harvey Dosik, Brooklyn, NY
Corwin Q. Edwards, Murray, UT
N. Lawrence Edwards, Gainesville, FL
Richard S. Eisenstaedt, Abington, PA
Eva Essenfeld-Sekler, Caracas, Venezuela
John F. Fisher, Augusta, GA
David A. Fleming, Columbia, MO
Michael S. Gold, Rockville, MD
Sharon L. Haase, Beaver Dam, WI
Irl B. Hirsch, Bellevue, WA
Richard P. Holm, Brookings, SD
Eric S. Holmboe, Phoenixville, PA
David H. Johnson, Dallas, TX
Joel T. Katz, Boston, MA
Carol Ann Kauffman, Ann Arbor, MI
Carl B. Lauter, Royal Oak, MI
Tzu-Kuang Lee, Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Lawrence K. Loo, Redlands, CA
Marco A. Lopez, Panama City, Panama
Marjorie K. Mau, Honolulu, HI
Robert M. McCann, Rochester, NY
Melissa A. McNeil, Pittsburgh, PA
Michael J. Morris, San Antonio, TX
Jerry L. Nadler, Norfolk, VA
Kenneth E. Olive, Johnson City, TN
Ruth M. Parker, Atlanta, GA
Carlos F. Petrozzi, Bloomfield Hills, MI
William Rojas, Medellin, Colombia
Ronald N. Rubin, Philadelphia, PA
Fred J. Schiffman, Providence, RI
Mark Siegler, Chicago, IL
Linda S. Snell, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Charles E. Turner, Huntington, WV
Paul A. Volberding, San Francisco, CA
Steven J. Walerstein, Dix Hills, NY
Frederic B. Walker, Grand Junction, CO
Joseph G. Weigel, Somerset, KY
William L. Winters Jr., Houston, TX
Marshall A. Wolf, Boston, MA
Janice Zimmerman, Houston, TX

About Mastership in the American College of Physicians

Levels of membership in ACP are Medical Student Member, Associate, Member, Fellow (FACP), Honorary Fellow, and Master (MACP). FACPs, or Fellows of the American College of Physicians, have been recommended by their peers, endorsed by their local ACP chapter Governor, and reviewed by a national credentials subcommittee.

Throughout the year, highly distinguished Fellows are nominated for Mastership by ACP members and others familiar with their backgrounds. Each fall, a select group of these Fellows are chosen from among the nominees for Mastership by the ACP Awards Committee and approved by the ACP Board of Regents. The title of Master of the American College of Physicians (MACP) is bestowed upon the recipient.

Masters must be highly accomplished individuals. Evidence of their achievements can come from many types of endeavors and honors, such as research, education, health care initiatives, volunteerism, and administrative positions. The Master must be distinguished by the excellence and significance of his or her contributions to the science and art of medicine.

For Mastership, ACP involvement is expected, with rare exceptions. This may include, for example, service to the College in an official capacity, participation in chapter activities, and involvement in the development of College products and educational programs. Masters are authorized to use the letters MACP in connection with their professional activities.