Montana Governor's Newsletter October 2018

Montana Chapter Banner

Pam Hiebert, MD, FACP, ACP Governor

Pam Hiebert, MD, FACP, ACP Governor


Governor's Message

The 2018 Montana Chapter Scientific Meeting was held in Billings. Thanks to Kat Dietrich, DO, FACP and Steve Gerstner, MD, FACP for organizing a superb meeting with fantastic speakers. There is so much great talent in Montana. Several WWAMI students gave excellent clinical vignettes. There were 15 internal medicine residents that presented amazing posters. It is always invigorating socializing with our colleagues from around the state.

Thanks to the following poster judges:

David Bybee, MD, MACP, Brad Bergman, MD, FACP, Noelle Thomas, MD, Gulara Hajiyeva, MD, FACP, Roger Bush, MD, MACP, and Steffan May, MD


Montana Chapter Resident/Fellow Abstract Winners

Kimberly Ng, MB, BCh, BAO – First place


Conrad Addison, MD – Second place


Nicholas Mills, DO – Third place


Awards were given to outstanding internists.

The Montana Chapter is proud to recognize Dr. Bradford Bergman as the recipient of the 2018 Laureate Award. The Laureate Award honors Fellows and Masters of the College who have demonstrated by their example and conduct an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, or research and in service to their community, their Chapter, and the American College of Physicians. Dr. Bergman has been in practice in IM since 2001. He has been very involved in the medical community with pharmacy and therapeutics, physician compensation and clinical trials. He co-chaired a MT chapter meeting in 2006. He has served as chapter treasurer since 2011. He loves the Montana outdoors.


Ellie Schiedermayer MS IV was awarded the William Reynolds Outstanding Medical Student Award. Ms. Schiedermayer is an excellent medical student and active member of ACP. She served on the governor's council and was the leader of the internal medicine interest group for her WWAMI medical school class. She was instrumental in getting over half her class to join ACP. She will be an excellent internist.


The Woman Physician of the Year was awarded to Meghan Johnston MD FACP. The award was presented by one of her students Paige Esposito a 4th year medical student. She affirmed that Dr. Johnston is an amazing mentor. She is an effective and supportive teacher and devoted to helping future physicians of Montana. She is accepting and kind to all patients that come in for medical help. She is a role model for students. There were quotes from 5 medical students.

“gifted physician and wonderful human being, healer and teacher, kind, devoted to patients, students and colleagues, warm, approachable, tactful, charismatic, and champion of women physicians.”


James Loeffelholz MD CPE FACP FAAPL was awarded the internist of the year. Dr Loeffelholz has been an internist at Bozeman Health since 2000. He moved into administrative roles in 2005. He has continued to advocate for practicing physicians. He has championed wellbeing programs. He is an active member of ACP. He has been an active member of the Montana ACP Chapter governor's council. He is the MMA representative for the Montana Chapter and on the board of trustees for MMA. He holds leadership positions in Bozeman Health, Mountain States Healthcare, and Pacific Northwest Healthcare. He has presented at numerous ACP scientific sessions. He is currently the CMO of Bozeman Health. He loves the Montana outdoors.


Congratulations to Emma Sargsyan, MD, FACP for receiving the 2018 Teacher of the Year Award. Dr. Emma Sargsyan has passionately developed a robust teaching program for medical students who rotate through the Benefis Health System. She has become the local Dean for Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences and will soon receive a Certificate in Physician Leadership after completing the ACP Leadership Academy. She brought excellent poster presentations by medical students to the 2018 MT ACP Big Sky Hospitalist Meeting and presented a lecture at that meeting herself.


The WWAMI Osler Club Internal Medicine Interest Group met October 1st. Dr. Herbert Swick from Missoula gave a talk on the 1918 influenza pandemic. This was a fascinating lecture about the devastating pandemic that killed 50 to 100 million people worldwide. Dr Swick focused on how Montana was affected. Montana was second only to Pennsylvania in deaths per capita. Most public places were mandated to close down. In Butte all public places closed except the the bars. Today influenza continues to be a killer and continued research is needed.


The Fall Board of Governors meeting was held in Seattle Sept 27-30

Issues that are top priorities for ACP are:

  • Physician Well-being and professional satisfaction
  • Encouraging High Value Care
  • Excellent Educational Resources
  • Addressing performance measures
  • Working around a Collaborative Maintenance Pathway
  • Collaboration with the Group of 6 (AAFP, AAP, ACOG, AOA, APA)

Thanks for your membership in ACP


Pam Hiebert, MD, FACP



Save the Date


Big Sky Hospitalist Meeting
March 28-30, 2019
Yellowstone Conference Center, Big Sky Resort

2019 Montana Chapter Scientific Meeting
September 12-14, 2019
Benefis Hospital, Great Falls



Congratulations to our new Fellows of the College - elected for their contributions to internal medicine and their service to community and patients.

Jessica A Hoge, MD FACP, Bozeman

Gulara Hajiyeva, MD FACP, Great Falls



Welcome New Members

Patrick Alduenda Affiliate Helena

Kyle R Brekke, DO Member Billings

Alice C Bremner, MD Member Bozeman

Matthew Hartman, MD Member Billings

Jeremy K Jennings, DO Member Whitefish

Megan A McMillan, MD Member Billings

Sarina Wilsons Affiliate Missoula



Enroll in the Advocates for Internal Medicine Network (AIMn)

Join more than 15,000 colleagues in the AIMn program in advocating for the interests of internal medicine in Washington, D.C. By joining, you will receive legislative updates on key policy issues and engage in outreach to your federal lawmakers. If you are already an AIMn member, you do not need to register again. Sign up here.

  • Members are not required to have existing relationships with their members of Congress to enroll
  • The program is open to all membership categories
  • As key issues approach the decision-making stage on Capitol Hill, headquarters e-mails Legislative Alerts, posts them on ACP's Facebook page and sends a Tweet via @advocatesIM and Advocates are asked to e-mail, post, Tweet and sometimes call their members of Congress
  • Advocates receive The Capitol Key newsletter, updating them on the advocacy activities of their fellow Advocates. Previous issues of the newsletter can be found here.



ACP Review & Recommendations for Meaningful Performance Measures for Preventive Care

Internists Tell CMS Not to Proceed with Changes to Payments for E/M Services that Undervalue Care

ACP Research Report Calls for Gender Equity in Physician Compensation and Career Advancement