You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Patient and Interprofessional Partnership Committee

Reports to: Senior Vice President, Medical Education Division

Visit the Committee Forum (current committee members only)

Charge:

To advise Medical Education Division staff on plans and strategies to promote high quality education that incorporates interprofessional, interdisciplinary and patient perspectives, and that promotes partnership with all members of the healthcare team.

Composition (12):

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; Vice Chair; three non-physician clinicians with experience/interest in interprofessional education (e.g., nurse, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or pharmacist); two non-clinician representatives with experience and expertise in patient and family partnership in care; one Resident/Fellow member; one Early Career Physician member; three at-large positions.

Terms:

Chair, Vice Chair, and members serve one-year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents. The early career physician and resident/fellow member positions are appointed according to the BOR-approved policy for council appointments.

2022-23 Members:

Carrie A. Horwitch, MD, MACP, Chair
Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine
Virginia Mason Franciscan Health
Seattle, WA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
carrieho@comcast.net

Susan Lee, MD, FACP, Vice Chair (Governor)
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
State University of New York, Stony Brook
East Setauket, NY
Specialty: Internal Medicine
susan.lee@stonybrookmedicine.edu

Darlene Barkman, MA
Education Specialist/Trainer
Department of Medical Ethics
CHOP Roberts Center for Pediatric Research
Philadelphia, PA
BARKMAND@chop.edu

Christine L. Bryson, DO, FACP
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine
University of Massachusetts Medical
Florence, MA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
Christine.Bryson@Baystatehealth.org

Carolyn Dickens, PhD, APRN, ACNP-BC
Chicago, IL
cdickens@uic.edu

Anna Legreid Dopp, PharmD
Director, Clinical Guidelines & Quality Improvement
American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
Bethesda, MD
adopp@ashp.org

Lindsey Galli
Director of Education
PFCC Partners
Long Beach, CA
lindsey@pfccpartners.com

William S. Palmer, MD, FACP
Hospitalist
Mt. Ascutney Hospitalist Practice
Cornish, NH
Specialty: Internal Medicine, Hospital Medicine

Heather Rye, CCM, LMSW
Complex Care Manager, Program Supervisor
University of Michigan
Royal Oaks, MI
hrye@med.umich.edu

Leslie-Ann Williams, MD, FACP
Alexandria, VA
Specialty: Medicine-Pediatrics
lesliewilliamsmd@gmail.com

Hera Maryam, MD (CRFM)
Fairfax, VA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
Maryamhera@gmail.com

Candace Sprott, MD, MBA, FAAP, FACP (CECP)
Oceanside, CA
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Pediatrics
candace.sprott@outlook.com

Staff Liaison: Davoren A. Chick, MD, FACP, dchick@acponline.org
Wendy Risso, wrissoalen@acponline.org