You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Patient and Interprofessional Partnership Committee

Reports to: Senior Vice President, Medical Education Division

Visit the Committee Forum (current committee members only)

Charge:

To advise Medical Education Division staff on plans and strategies to promote high quality education that incorporates interprofessional, interdisciplinary and patient perspectives, and that promotes partnership with all members of the healthcare team.

Composition (11):

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; three non-physician clinicians with experience/interest in interprofessional education (e.g., nurse, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or pharmacist); two non-clinician representatives with experience and expertise in patient and family partnership in care; one Resident/Fellow member; one Early Career Physician member; three at-large positions.

Terms:

One-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the Chair, BOR.

2021-22 Members:

Carrie A. Horwitch, MD, MACP, Chair
Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine
Virginia Mason Franciscan Health
Seattle, WA
Specialty: IM
carrieho@comcast.net

Darlene Barkman, MA
Education Specialist/Trainer
Department of Medical Ethics
CHOP Roberts Center for Pediatric Research
Philadelphia, PA
BARKMAND@chop.edu

Susan Corbridge, PhD, APRN, FAANP
Executive Associate Dean, College of Nursing
Clinical Professor, Biobehavioral Health Science, College of Nursing
Clinical Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep & Allergy
University of Illinois at Chicago
Chicago, IL
sjsmith@uic.edu

Anna Legreid Dopp, PharmD
Director, Clinical Guidelines & Quality Improvement
American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
Bethesda, MD
adopp@ashp.org

Lindsey Galli
Director of Education
PFCC Partners
Long Beach, CA
lindsey@pfccpartners.com

Susan Lee, MD, FACP (Governor)
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
State University of New York, Stony Brook
East Setauket, NY
Specialty: IM
susan.lee@stonybrookmedicine.edu

William S. Palmer, MD, FACP
Hospitalist
Mt. Ascutney Hospitalist Practice
Cornish, NH
Specialty: IM, HOS

Heather Rye, CCM, LMSW
Complex Care Manager, Program Supervisor
University of Michigan
Royal Oaks, MI
hrye@med.umich.edu

Patricia E. Sadler, MD, FACP
Medical Director
Hospice of Laurens County
Clinton, SC
Specialty: Hospice & Palliative Medicine
pesadler@charter.net

Vanessa Van Doren, MD (CRFM)
Internal Medicine Resident
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA
Specialty: IM
vanessa.vandoren@gmail.com

Anthony Yoder, DO, MPH, FACP (CECP)
Medical Director
Community Health Center
Newington, CT
Specialty: IM
yodera@chc1.com

Staff Liaison: Daisy Smith, dsmith@mail.acponline.org
Monica Lizarraga, mlizarraga@acponline.org