You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Patient and Interprofessional Partnership Committee

Reports to: Senior Vice President, Medical Education Division

Visit the Committee Forum (current committee members only)


To advise Medical Education Division staff on plans and strategies to promote high quality education that incorporates interprofessional, interdisciplinary and patient perspectives, and that promotes partnership with all members of the healthcare team.

Composition (11):

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; three non-physician clinicians with experience/interest in interprofessional education (e.g., nurse, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or pharmacist); two non-clinician representatives with experience and expertise in patient and family partnership in care; one Resident/Fellow member; one Early Career Physician member; three at-large positions.


One-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the Chair, BOR.

2020-21 Members:

Steven E. Weinberger, MD, MACP, Chair
Executive Vice President and CEO Emeritus
American College of Physicians
Philadelphia, PA
Specialties: PUL, Critical Care

Darlene Barkman, MA
Education Specialist/Trainer
Department of Medical Ethics
Roberts Center for Pediatric Research
Philadelphia, PA

Susan Corbridge, PhD, APRN, FAANP, FAAN
Executive Associate Dean, College of Nursing
Clinical Professor, Biobehavioral Health Science
College of Nursing
Clinical Professor, Department of Medicine,
Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep & Allergy
University of Illinois at Chicago
Chicago, IL

Lindsey Galli
Director of Education
Sacramento, CA

Carrie A. Horwitch, MD, MPH, MACP
Clinical Associate Professor
Virginia Mason Medical
Seattle, WA
Specialties:  IM, HIV Care

Anna Legreid Dopp, PharmD
Madison, WI

William S. Palmer, MD, FACP
Cornish, NH
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Heather Rye, LMSW
Royal Oaks, MI

Patricia E. Sadler, MD, FACP
Medical Director
Hospice of Laurens County, Inc.
Clinton, SC
Specialties: IM, Hospice and Palliative Medicine

Stephen M. Hughes, MD, San Antonio, TX – CRFM

Anthony Yoder, MD, MPH, FACP, Newington, CT - CECP

Staff Liaison: Daisy Smith
Monica Lizarraga,