You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Chapter News

Congratulations New Chapter Fellows

Congratulations to the follow Georgia Chapter members who have been elected Fellows of the College: 

  • Edem K Avoke, MD FACP
  • Gary M Dalley, MD FACP
  • Maria J De Guzman, MD FACP
  • Nancy C Echefu, MD FACP
  • Melissa Rampal, MD FACP
  • Lisa J Walker, MD FACP

Your Feedback Requested for Fall 2021 BOG Resolutions

Your input is requested on the 12 resolutions that will be considered at the Fall 2021 Board of Governors' Meeting. The chapter values your input and will include it as part of the comments shared with ACP National on behalf of the Georgia Chapter. 

After considering the intent of each resolution and its alignment with the College’s Mission, Vision and Goals, please provide your feedback on each resolution and indicate your support or opposition no later than September 1, 2021

Please provide your responses using the survey link below. 

Take Survey

We appreciate and thank you for your time and consideration of these resolutions which help to shape the College policy that impacts the practice of internal medicine. 

Please check back following the Fall 2021 Board of Governors' meeting for updates.

G. Waldon Garriss, III, MD, MS, FAAP, MACP
Governor, Georgia Chapter of the American College of Physicians

2021 Georgia Chapter Awards

Submission Deadline: September 1, 2021

The American College of Physicians Georgia Chapter Awards Committee is now accepting nominations for the 2021 Georgia Chapter Awards.  Please consider nominating a colleague, resident and/or student who represent some of the many outstanding chapter members deserving of recognition for their contributions and accomplishments.

More information.

Send all nominations and questions to Mary Daniels. 

 (May 3, 2021) 

(January 21, 2021)The Georgia Chapter of the ACP encourages its member to get involved in volunteer community service throughout the State in the months of November 2020 through February 2021.

Learn More

(January 5, 2021) - Congratulations to the 2020 Georgia Chapter Poster Winners 

Congratulations to the 2020 Resident poster winners and 2020 Student poster winners

(November 5, 2020) - Georgia Chapter Wins Chapter Excellence Award 

We are pleased to announce that our chapter is in receipt of the Gold Level of the 2020 Chapter Excellence Award! The award recognizes truly extraordinary chapters that surpass excellence in chapter management. We are in the company of 32 other outstanding chapters.   In order to achieve the Gold Level of the Chapter Excellence Award, chapters must meet twenty-one Bronze criteria, fifteen Silver criteria and multiple Gold level activities. Criteria include such activities as having a legislative action plan or agenda, holding a volunteerism/community service activity, holding multiple stand-alone meetings, having revenue sources outside of dues and meeting registration fees, implementing a strategic plan, implementing a formal recruitment and retention plan and measuring outcomes, conducting various activities for Medical Students, Residents and Early Career Physicians. I would like to extend a special thanks to those chapter members who assisted us in all of these endeavors! For their hard work and dedication, we received this award.

  (October 23, 2020) - Congratulate our National Award Winners

James A. Hotz, MD, MACP, has been named the recipient of the 2020-2021 Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion of a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients. The award is given to an outstanding practitioner of internal medicine whose career has been devoted to the care of patients. The practitioner must be a clinician who is highly respected by peers and colleagues for clinical skills and who has been a role model.

Guillermo E. Umpierrez, MD, MACP, has been named the recipient of the 2020-2021 Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award for Contributions in Diabetes. The award is given to a member of the American College of Physicians or to an organization that has made important health care delivery innovations for diabetic patients resulting in improved clinical or economic outcomes; or a member of the ACP who has conducted research that significantly improves quality of care or clinical management of diabetes.

Congratulate Guillermo E. Umpierrez, MD, MACP

Congratulations to Guillermo E. Umpierrez, MD, MACP,​ of Atlanta who has received Mastership in the American College of Physicians. To be considered for Mastership, the candidate must have made a notable contribution to medicine. This includes but is not limited to teaching, outstanding work in clinical medicine (research or practice), contributions to preventive medicine, improvements in the delivery health care, or contributions to medical literature.


(October 2020) - Chapter Awards - Congratulations to our Chapter Award Winners