ACP Announces 2023-24 Recipients of Masterships and National Awards

The Mastership Committee and Awards Committee are pleased to announce that the Board of Regents has approved the following individuals and institutions to receive College awards and Masterships for FY 2023-24. If you would like to personally congratulate any of the new awardees or MACPs, please contact John Haefele, Administrator, Board of Regents and Governance Activities, at

Please join us in congratulating the awardees and new MACPs.

John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine

Rochelle P. Walensky, MD, MACP
Newton, Massachusetts

James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine

John B. Wong, MD, MACP
Belmont, Massachusetts

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians

Yul D. Ejnes, MD, MACP
North Scituate, Rhode Island

Harriet P. Dustan Award for Science as Related to Medicine

Judith A. James, MD, FACP
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Dimitrios P. Kontoyiannis, MD, FACP
Houston, Texas

Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award

Princy N. Kumar, MD, MACP
Washington, District of Columbia

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion of a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients

Orlando L. Torres, MD, FACP
West Hartford, Connecticut

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award for Scholarly Activities in the Humanities and History of Medicine

Christopher Crenner, MD
Kansas City, Kansas

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award

Phillip E. Korenblat, MD, FACP
Saint Louis, Missouri

Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service

Congressman Ami Bera
Los Angeles, California

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service

Shagufta Yasmeen, MBBS, MACP
Sacramento, California

Walter J. McDonald Award for Early Career Physicians

Ali M. Khan, MD, MPP, FACP
Chicago, Illinois

Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award

David J. Gelovani, MD
Detroit, Michigan

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator

Andrew Parsons, MD, FACP
Charlottesville, Virginia

W. Lester Henry Award for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Bruce Ovbiagele, MD
San Francisco, California

Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award for Contributions in Diabetes

Deborah A. Koehn, MD, FACP
Mechanicsville, Virginia

ACP Award for Distinguished Contributions to Behavioral Medicine

Gene Lambert, MD, FACP
Boston, Massachusetts

Faith T. Fitzgerald Award for Outstanding Educator of Residents and Fellows

Jennifer Jeremiah, MD, FACP
Rehoboth, Massachusetts

ACP Award for a Distinguished Contribution by ACP National or Chapter Staff

Joyce "Joy" Crist
Palmyra, New Jersey

Steven E. Weinberger Award for Physician Executives/Leaders

Elena Rios, MD, MACP
Washington, District of Columbia

Elizabeth and Emily Blackwell Award for Outstanding Contributions to Advancing the Careers of Women in Medicine

Mary Y. Lee, MD, MACP
Belmont, Massachusetts

ACP Award for Outstanding Contributions to Improving Well-being and Professional Fulfillment in Internal Medicine

Mukta Panda, MD, MACP
Chattanooga, Tennessee

ACP Inspirational Global Member Award (Early Career Physician)

Monica R. Pachar, MD, FACP
Santiago, Panama

ACP Inspirational Global Member Award (Established Physician)

Peter G. Hamilton, MBBCh, FACP
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada


Neville M. Alberto, MD, MACP
West Fargo, North Dakota

Stanley A. Amundson, MD, MACP
San Diego, California

Naomi E. Aronson, MC USA, MACP
Bethesda, Maryland

Omar T. Atiq, MD, MACP
Little Rock, Arkansas

Stewart F. Babbott, MD, MACP
Charlottesville, Virginia

Mark K. Belknap, MD, MACP
Ashland, Wisconsin

Melvin S. Blanchard, MD, MACP
Baltimore, Maryland

Edward R Bollard, MD, MACP
Lebanon, Pennsylvania

Matthew J. Burday, DO, MACP
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania

Maria T. Carney, MD, MACP
Locust Valley, New York

Guillermo F. Conte, MD, MACP
Santiago, Chile

Lisa A. Cooper, MD, MACP
Baltimore, Maryland

Lora C. Denton, MD, MACP
Savannah, Georgia

Aarati D. Didwania, MD, MACP
Chicago, Illinois

Gretchen A. Diemer, MD, MACP
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Theodore M. Freeman, MC USAF, MACP
Helotes, Texas

Guillermo Garcia-Garcia, MD, MACP
Zapopan, Mexico

James F. Graumlich, MD, MACP
Peoria, Illinois

Linda F. Habeeb Rotondo, MD, MACP
East Sandwich, Massachusetts

Manning H. Hanline, MD, MACP
Pensacola, Florida

Steven R. Hays, MD, MACP
Dallas, Texas

Marian O. Hodges, MD, MACP
Portland, Oregon

Matthew F. Hollon, MD, MPH, MACP
Spokane, Washington

Pranay Kathuria, MBBS, MACP
Tulsa, Oklahoma

Susan W. Lane, MD, MACP
East Setauket, New York

Jose L. Lezama, MD, MACP
Lutz, Florida

Jose A. Lozada-Costas, MD, MACP
San Juan, Puerto Rico

Susan Manzi, MD, MPH, MACP
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Kelly A. McGarry, MD, MACP
Exeter, Rhode Island

Enrique Jorge Mendoza, MD, MACP
Enfrente de la Pizeria Napoli, Panama

Curtis R. Mirkes, DO MACP
Temple, Texas

Yoshiharu Motoo, MD, MACP
Komatsu, Japan

Mohan M. Nadkarni, MD, MACP
Charlottesville, Virginia

Kemi Nakabayashi, MD, MACP
Seattle, Washington

Craig D. Nielsen, MD, MACP
Shaker Heights, Ohio

Carlos Nitsch Montiel, MD, MACP
Guatemala, Central America

Danielle Ofri, MD, MACP
New York, New York

Naresh H. Pathak, MD, MACP
Parkland, Florida

Eladio Pereira, MD, MBA, MACP
Nogales, Arizona

Jose Manuel Porcel, MD, MACP
Lleida, Spain

Tamie Proscia-Lieto, MD, MACP
Ramsey, New Jersey

Theresa Rohr-Kirchgraber, MD, MACP
Athens, Georgia

Richard Shellenberger, DO MACP
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Charles Michael Soppet, MD, MACP
Indian Springs, Alabama

Debra L. Stottlemyer, MD, MBA, MACP
Redlands, California

Sharon Suson, MD, MACP
Cary, North Carolina

Harold M Szerlip, MD, MACP
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina

Michael J. Tan, MD, MACP
Akron, Ohio

Samuel C. Thigpen, MD, MACP
Jackson, Mississippi

Eric J. Topol, MD, MACP
La Jolla, California

Nazim S. Turhal, MD, MACP
Istanbul, Turkey

Rochelle P. Walensky, MD, MACP
Newton, Massachusetts

Erik A. Wallace, MD, MACP
Colorado Springs, Colorado

COL Paige E. Waterman, MC USA, MACP
Bethesda, Maryland

Alva B. Weir, MD, MACP
Germantown, Tennessee

Lechauncy D. Woodard, MD, MACP
Pearland, Texas

Megan E. Wren, MD, MACP
Webster Groves, Missouri