October 2021 Governor's Newsletter

Annual Meeting Updates

The first part of the annual chapter meeting will be held virtually this year on **Friday, November 5.** Program Planning Co-Chairs, Dr. Sarah Wescott and Dr. Michael Cheshire, have organized a great program of talks. "**Life Beyond During the Pandemic**." Registration information is forthcoming. We are hopeful that we will be able to gather in person in January to add a few additional aspects to the meeting including hosting a competitive Doctors Dilemma. We plan to host the second part of our annual chapter meeting on January 20-21, 2022 at Stonewall Resort.

Chapter Virtual Poster Competition Reminder

Residents, fellows and medical students whose abstracts have been accepted for the **2021 WV ACP Chapter Virtual Poster Competition** must submit their one-slide, voice-over PowerPoint presentation **by October 29 at 5pm**. Presentations will be uploaded to our <u>ACP Virtual Poster Competition site</u> by November 1 and all chapter members will be able to view the posters via this site. Make sure to complete your <u>SOLE self-</u> <u>enrollment</u> so that you have the opportunity see all the hard work our resident/fellow and medical student members have done.

Elections

It's time to vote for our next Chapter Governor. Those eligible to vote include MACPs, FACPs, Members, and Resident/Fellow Members with an election date of September 1, 2019 or earlier. The Governor serves as the



official representative of the College for the Chapter, providing a link between members at the local level and leadership at the national level.

This year we have two superb candidates who are running for **Governor-elect**, **Dr. Eva Patton-Tackett and Dr. Shawn Chillag**. I wanted to acknowledge and thank them both for their enthusiastic work on behalf of our Chapter over the years. To learn more about their background and experience, see their biographies and candidate statements on

our Chapter's Website.

The election is taking place **October 1 through November 5**. Members can vote online or by mail-in ballot. The ballot will be mailed to you and includes your ACP Member Number and Election Passcode that are required in order to cast a vote.

To ensure your voting experience is smooth and easy, please note the following: Voting materials are not sent from ACP directly. ACP has collaborated with Survey & Ballot Systems (SBS) to conduct the election, so you may need to check your spam/junk folder for your ballot. The subject of the ballot email is "ACP 2021 Governor-elect Election Voting Information". We encourage you to add <u>noreply@directvote.net</u> as an approved sender so that your ballot arrives safely in your inbox.

For replacement ballots and election customer service, email <u>support@directvote.net</u> or call 866-909-3549, Monday-Friday, 8a-5p Central. For general election information, contact Julie Sinkoff, Coordinator, Board of Governor Relations, via <u>email</u> or telephone at 215-351-2699.



Mastership and National Awards Recipients in the WV ACP Chapter

Dr. Asif Rahman has been chosen to receive the Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award of the American College of Physicians and **Dr. Karen Clark** has been chosen to receive Mastership from the American College of Physicians.

Your Help is Needed!

Want to be more active within the Chapter? Why not join our Membership Committee? Chapter members who are interested in participating in our Membership Committee, please contact our Chair, <u>Dr. Charles</u> <u>Mupamombe</u> or our Executive Director, <u>Sheri Campbell</u>. Faculty, resident/fellow and medical student members are welcome to join the committee.

New Guideline from ACP

A new paper published on April 27 in the *Annals of Internal Medicine*, offers recommendations for the appropriate use of high-flow nasal oxygen in hospitalized patients for initial or post-extubation management of acute respiratory failure. Click <u>here</u> to read the full article.

New Ideas and Opinions Article Suggests Ways to Support the Well-Being of the Physician Workforce in the COVID-19 Environment

Annals of Internal Medicine published a new Ideas and opinions article titled <u>Getting Through COVID-19</u>: <u>Keeping Clinicians in the Workforce</u>, authored by ACP leaders Darilyn V. Moyer, MD, FACP, FRCP, FIDSA; Eileen Barrett, MD, MPH; Susan Thompson Hingle, MD; and Cynthia D. Smith, MD. The authors are sending a direct message to employers at health systems, hospitals, and clinical practices to create strategies to support the well-being of the physician workforce during this pandemic. It is important for physicians to feel they work in an environment where they can safely care for patients while simultaneously supporting one another. The article recommends a variety of different methods and practices for employers to put in place that prioritize the physical and mental health of physicians and clinicians and go beyond the typical suggestions of yoga and meditation.

2021 West Virginia Chapter Officers, Planning Committee and Council Members				
Governor	Conference Planning Committee	Advisory Co	Advisory Council Chairs	
Laura Davisson, MD, FACP	Michael Cheshire, DO - Co-Chair	Scientific Program Co-Chairs	Michael Cheshire, DO &	
Morgantown, WV	Sarah Westcott, DO - Co-Chair		Sarah Westcott, DO	
ldavisson@hsc.wvu.edu	Chris Dionne, MD - Vice Co-Chair	Scientific Program Vice Co-Chairs	Chris Dionne, MD &	
	Spoorthi Sankineni, MD - Vice Co-Chair		Spoorthi Sankineni, MD	
Immediate Past Governor	Laura Davisson, MD, MPH, FACP	Health & Public Policy	Brad Henry, MD, FACP	
Tom Dorsey, MD, FACP	Sarah Sofka, MD, FACP	Membership	Charles Mupamombe, MD	
Wheeling, WV	Tom Dorsey, MD, FACP	Awards & Nominating	Rashida Khakoo, MD, MACP	
jdorsey3@aol.com	Michael lannetti, MD	Women in Medicine	Josephine Reece, MD	
	Kristen Helmick, MD, FACP	Service & Volunteerism	Ashley Zawodniak, DO	
Treasurer & Chair-	Samson Teka, MD, FACP	Early Career Physicians	Murali Gurram, MD	
Nominations Committee	Brandon Rose, DO	Physician Well-being & Physician	Sarah Sofka, MD, FACP &	
Karen Clark, MD, FACP	James Campbell, MD	Satisfaction	Kristen Helmick, MD, FACP	
Morgantown, WV	Charles Mupamombe, MD	Resident Council	Jessica Thayer, MD	
kclark@hsc.wvu.edu	Stephen Roy, MD	Student Council	Jessica Arvon	
	Ankit Sakhuja, MD			
	Sheri Campbell, Executive Director			
Executive Director		Advisory Council Members		
Sheri Campbell	Karen Clark, MD, FACP	Tom Dorsey, MD, FACP	Jacob Fuqua, MD	
Morgantown, WV	Eva Patton-Tackett, MD, FACP	Brandon Shiflett, MD	Kristen Catherman, MD	
scampbell@hsc.wvu.edu	Nate Lerfald, MD, FACP	Samson Teka, MD, FACP	Brooke Shannon, DO	
	Brandon Rose, DO	Shawn Chillag, MD, FACP	Amro Daoud, MD	
	Michael lannetti, MD	Andrea Labus, MD	Ahmed Mahdi, MD	
	Murad Kheetan, MD	Stephen Roy, MD	Saranya Dinesan, MD	
	Ankit Sakhuja, MD	Joel Yednock, MD	Prerna Sharma, MD	
	James Campbell, MD	David Garst, DO	Katherine White, MD	
	Amna Anees, MD FACP	Jacqueline Moore, DO	Jane Tuttle, MD	
	Brandon Shiflett, MD	Sonikpreet Aulakh, MD	Kylie Shockly	