Nominations have opened for the 2023 ACP Arizona awards!

Recognize a Deserving Arizona Physician

Your nomination should consist of:

•A statement that comes from your personal viewpoint and experience with the nominee. You may include personal stories and anecdotes illustrating qualities that support your nomination.

•The nominee's curriculum vitae.

Send your nominations to <u>dwebber@azmed.org</u> by August 31.

Award categories

Internal Medicine Physician of the Year is given to an ACP AZ Chapter Member, Fellow or Master with an exemplary patient care record. The awardee will also be a respected member of the physician community, dedicated to the practice of internal medicine and/or an internal medicine subspecialty and helpful to his/her colleagues.

Volunteerism and Community Service Award recognizes a Master, Fellow, Member, or Resident of ACP who has provided volunteer service post-training. Self-nominations are not permitted in this category. Performs services on a voluntary basis that are required for the completion of teaching, training, or position requirements. Volunteer work must have been done as a physician and be medically related. Awardees are eligible for the national Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service.

Early Career Physician of the Year is given to an ACP AZ Chapter Member who meets the definition of an Early Career Physician, defined as a physician member of ACP who is within sixteen (16) years of medical school graduation, who is not a medical student or associate member of ACP and who has demonstrated energy and

dedication both to their career and to the profession of medicine. The applicant will be considered based on recognition from colleagues, supervisors, residents and students.

Educator of the Year is given to an ACP AZ Chapter Member, Fellow or Master who has exhibited exceptional skill and dedication in undergraduate medical education, graduate medical education or continuing medical education. The applicant will be considered based on recognition from learners, scholarly accomplishments in education, and participation in educational administrative activities.

Hospitalist of the Year Award is given to an ACP AZ Chapter Member, Fellow or Master who has performed the duties of a full-time inpatient internal medicine specialist, or "hospitalist", with expertise and dedication, and has demonstrated leadership in quality improvement and education, has consistently delivered high-value and evidence-based care, provided in a patient-focused manner, exemplifying the highest standards of professionalism. The nominee will be considered based on recognition from colleagues, supervisors, residents and/or students.

Leader of the Year Award is given to an ACP Arizona Chapter Member, Fellow or Master who is a recognized and respected leader in Arizona medicine. As an internal medicine specialist or subspecialist, the nominee will have demonstrated vision, leadership and the capacity to negotiate, develop and implement creative solutions to healthcare problems, such as innovative approaches toward novel health system delivery models.

Researcher of the Year is given to an ACP AZ Chapter Member, Fellow or Master who has devoted at least half of his/her professional career to clinical and/or basic research. The Award will recognize the awardee's body of work which may include research publication in the medical literature and/or significant contributions to the body of scientific knowledge.

Resident of the Year is given to an ACP AZ Chapter Resident Member who demonstrates professionalism and leadership in his/her residency program, the medical profession and the community. The Awardee will be characterized by going above and beyond what is required of a resident. Successful nominations will be supported by the Resident's Program Director.

Medical Student of the Year is given to an ACP AZ Chapter Student Member who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship, interest in Internal Medicine, community service and outreach, and who has participated in ACP AZ Chapter and other Internal Medicine-related activities.

Women in Medicine Award is bestowed upon an ACP member for distinguished contributions to advancing the careers of women in medicine. This award recognizes an individual who has furthered the careers of women medical students, residents, and/or physicians through mentoring and leadership development.

Morton Fuchs *Community-Based Education* **Memorial Award**: This award recognizes the Rural Health Professions Program preceptor and student participants for the current year and was founded by Dr. Morton Fuchs, former ACP AZ Governor. The Rural Health Professions Program (RHPP) is a program of the University of Arizona College of Medicine that matches medical students with physicians working in small towns throughout Arizona. This program provides opportunities for students to experience both the challenges and gratification of rural medical practice and strives to establish working and learning partnerships among rural physicians, College of Medicine faculty and students.

> The deadline is August 31 - don't delay! Send your nominations to <u>dwebber@azmed.org</u>