You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are here

Ethics and Professionalism: CME and MOC

Physicians enrolled in the American Board of Internal Medicine's (ABIM) Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program can earn 10 medical knowledge self-assessment points for successfully completing the 25-question module based on the Annals of Internal Medicine: Ethics and Professionalism Learning Module.

CME and MOC activities are available free to ACP members and purchased subscriptions. Others who are interested in completing this MOC activity can learn more about ACP membership and individual subscriptions to Annals of Internal Medicine.

To earn MOC points:

  1. Read the ACP Ethics Manual, available online at
  2. Take the Ethics and Professionalism Learning Module MOC Quiz to submit your answers to the 25 questions and transfer the information to the ABIM. Important: Even if you have submitted answers to the CME quiz on, you will need to re-enter your answers into the online MOC submission form.
  3. Successful completion of an ethics module - score of 60% or higher -- qualifies for 10 ABIM MOC points.

To earn CME credits:

  1. Read the ACP Ethics Manual, available online at
  2. Complete the Ethics and Professionalism CME Course.
  3. Successful completion of an ethics module - score of 100% -- qualifies for 10 CME credits.

Accreditation Statement

The American College of Physicians is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing education for physicians.

The American College of Physicians designates this Enduring Material, ACP Ethics Manual, Sixth Edition, for a maximum of 10 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.


For questions please call ACP Customer Service at 800-523-1546, x2600 or 215-351-2600 or submit your question online.

Physicians maintaining their American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) certification can go to to see the specific requirements for MOC.