• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

Chairs of the Board of Governors


1926-30: Charles G. Jennings, Detroit, MI
1930-33: W. Blair Stewart, Atlantic City, NJ
1933-35: Ernest B. Bradley, Lexington, KY
1935-42: Charles H. Cocke, Asheville, NC
1942-44: William B. Breed, Boston, MA
1944-47: Chauncey W. Dowden, Louisville, KY
1947-51: Walter L. Palmer, Chicago, IL
1951-54: Charles A. Doan, Columbus, OH
1954-57: Carter Smith, Atlanta, GA
1957-58: William C. Menninger, Topeka, KS
1958-59: Richard P. Stetson, Boston, MA
1959-62: Marshall N. Fulton, Providence, RI
1962-64: George C. Griffith, Los Angeles, CA
1964-66: John A. Layne, Great Falls, MT
1966-68: Roberto F. Escamilla, San Francisco, CA
1968-71: Maxwell G. Berry, St. Louis, MO
1971-73: John R. Gamble, San Francisco, CA
1973-75: Jeremiah A. Barondess, New York, NY
1975-77: Bryan Williams, Dallas, TX
1977-78: Beverly C. Payne, Ann Arbor, Michigan
1978-79: C.S. Lewis, Jr., Tulsa, OK
1979-80: Lawrence Scherr, Manhattan, NY
1980-81: Ralph O. Wallerstein, San Francisco, CA

Beginning in 1981, each Chair also served as Chair—Elect in the preceding year.

1981-82: William Davis, Jr., New Orleans, LA
1982-83: Boy Frame, Detroit, MI (replaced Marvin Turck, Chair elect 1981 82, who did not assume the office of Chairman elect)
1983-84: John A. Spittell, Jr., Rochester, MN
1984-85: Arthur W. Feinberg, Manhattan, NY
1985-86: J. Philip Clarke, Denver, CO
1986-87: Joseph E. Johnson III, Winston-Salem, NC
1987-88: Alvin L. Schultz, Minneapolis, MN
1988-89: James A. Curtin, Washington, DC
1989-90: Linda Hawes Clever, San Francisco, CA
1990-91: Jock Murray, Halifax, NS, CANADA
1991-92: F. Daniel Duffy, Tulsa, Oklahoma
1992-93: James J. Bergin, Kansas City, Kansas
1993-94: Walter J. McDonald, Sherwood, Oregon
1994-95: John P. Tooker, Falmouth, Maine
1995-96: Oscar E. Edwards, Norfolk, Virginia
1996-97: Rowen K. Zetterman, Omaha, Nebraska
1997-98: William J. Hall, Rochester, NY
1998-99: Mahendr S. Kochar, Milwaukee, WI
1999-00: Munsey S. Wheby, Charlottesville, VA
2000-01: Donna E. Sweet, Wichita, KS
2001-02: Lynn M. Kirk, Dallas, TX
2002-03: David C. Dale, Seattle, WA
2003-04: Jeffrey P. Harris, Winchester, VA
2004-05: Frederick E. Turton, Sarasota, FL
2005-06: J. Fred Ralston, Jr., Fayetteville, TN
2006-07: Yul D. Ejnes, Cranston, RI
2007-08: David L. Bronson, Cleveland, OH
2008-09: Donald W. Hatton, Lawrence, KS
2009-10: Molly Cooke, San Francisco, CA
2010-11: Charles Cutler, Norristown, PA
2011-12: David A. Fleming, Columbia, MO
2012-13: Thomas G. Tape, Omaha, NE
2013-14: Susan Thompson Hingle, Springfield, IL
2014-15: Darilyn V. Moyer, Philadelphia, PA
2015-2016: Andrew Dunn, New York, NY

Last updated: 5/4/15

Fenway Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health, 2nd Edition

Fenway Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health, 2nd Edition This new edition reflects recent clinical and social changes and continues to present the important issues facing practitioners and their LGBT patients. Read more about the Guide. Also see ACP's recent policy position paper on LGBT health disparities.

Join Us in Washington, DC for the Most Comprehensive Meeting in Internal Medicine

Join Us in Washington, DC for the Most Comprehensive Meeting in Internal Medicine
Register now and enjoy:

Discounted rates, the best national faculty, a wealth of clinical and practice management topics and hands-on sessions! Learn more about the meeting.