• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

Internal Medicine Scientific Program Committee

Reports to:

Senior Vice President, Medical Education


Advise staff in the creation of the scientific program for ACP’s annual scientific meeting that will enable internists and subspecialists to maintain and advance their knowledge and skills for the benefit of their patients.

Composition (14)

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; 13 members who, along with the chair, represent the following areas:

Infectious Diseases
Pulmonary/Critical Care
Four General Internists (two each representing hospital and ambulatory medicine)

At least one position must be filled by an Early Career Physician.


One-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the CEO.

2015-17 Members

Lisa L. Ellis, MD, FACP, Chair
(Governor) Virginia
Chief Medical Officer
Medical College of Virginia Physicians
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
and OB/GYN
Richmond, VA
Specialty: Women’s Health

Moises Auron, MD, FAAP, SFHM, FACP
Beachwood, OH
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Robert N. Axon, MD
Charleston, SC
Specialty: MPD

William E. Davis, MD, FACP
(Governor) Louisiana
Chair, Rheumatology Depart
Ochsner Medical Center
New Orleans, LA
Specialty: RHU

Jonathan J. Hogan
New York, NY

Janet A. Jokela, MD, MPH, FIDSA, FACP
(Governor) Illinois Downstate
Professor of Clinical Medicine
College of Medicine
Univ of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Urbana, IL
Specialties: IM, ID

Marc J. Kahn, MD, FACP
New Orleans, LA
Specialty: HEM

Gregory C. Kane, MD, FACP
(Governor) Pennsylvania Southeastern
the Jane and Leonard Korman Professor
of Pulmonary Medicine
Interim Chairman of the Dept of Medicine
Jefferson Medical College
Philadelphia, PA
Specialty: IM

Karen F. Mauck, MD, FACP
Rochester, MN
Specialty: IM

Diana B. McNeill, MD, FACP
Durham, NC
Specialties: END, MTD, Diabetes

Eileen M. Moser, MD, FACP
Hummelstown, PA
Specialty: IM

Lawrence M. Phillips, MD, FACP
(Governor) New York, Manhattan/Bronx
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiology
Director, Nuclear Cardiology
New York, NY
Specialties: C, Nuclear Cardiology

Soma Wali, MD, FACP
(Governor) Southern California Region I
Chair, Dept of Medicine
Director, UCLA-Olive View Internal
Medicine Residency Program
Executive Vice Chair of Medicine
UCLA Affiliated Hospital
Professor of Clinical Medicine
David Geffen School of Medicine
Univ of UCLA
Sylmar, CA
Specialties: IM, Medical Education

CDR Patrick E. Young, MC, USN, FACP
North Potomac, MD
Specialty: GE

Staff Liaison: Barbara Licht blicht@acponline.org

Page updated: 04-21-15

Not an ACP Member?

Join today and discover the benefits waiting for you.

Not an ACP Member? Join today and discover the benefits waiting for you

ACP offers different categories of membership depending on your career stage and professional status. View options, pricing and benefits.

A New Way to Ace the Boards!

A New Way to Ace the Boards!

Ensure you're board-exam ready with ACP's Board Prep Ace - a multifaceted, self-study program that prepares you to pass the ABIM Certification Exam in internal medicine. Learn more.