• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

Laureate Award

The Laureate Award is presented to long-standing and loyal supporters of the College who have rendered distinguished service to their chapters and community and have upheld the high ideals and professional standards for which the American College of Physicians is known. Previous Virginia Laureates are:

1986 Charles M. Caravati, MD, MACP Richmond
Alexander McCausland, MD, FACP Roanoke
Kinloch Nelson, MD, MACP Richmond
W. Taliaferro Thompson, Jr, MD, MACP Richmond
Elam C. Toone, Jr, MD, FACP Richmond
1987 John J. Dempsey, MD, FACP Smithfield
John Franklin, MD, FACP Norfolk
John L. Guerrant, MD, FACP Charlottesville
James M. Moss, MD, FACP Alexandria
H. St. George Tucker, Jr, MD, FACP Richmond
1988 George J. Carroll, MD, FACP Suffolk
Kenneth R. Crispell, MD, FACP Charlottesville
1989 Edward W. Hook, MD, MACP Charlottesville
David W. Richardson, MD, FACP Richmond
Bertram C. Snyder, MD, FACP Arlington
1990 George S. Grier, III, MD, FACP Newport News
Lockhart B. McGuire, MD, FACP Charlottesville
William S. Terry, MD, FACP Portsmouth
1991 Robert A. Abernathy, MD, FACP Cedar Bluff
William D. Lewis, MD, FACP Martinsville
Emmett C. Mathews, Sr, MD Richmond
Charles H. Sackett, MD Lynchburg
1992 Vernon L. Cofer, Jr, MD, FACP Norfolk
Charles L. Crockett, Jr, MD, MACP Roanoke
Daniel N. Mohler, MD, FACP Charlottesville
David W. Scott, Jr, MD, FACP Fredericksburg
William T. Tucker, MD, FACP Richmond
1993 William F. Bernart, MD Nassawadox
W. Robert Irby, MD, FACP Richmond
Jason E. McClellen, MD, FACP Newport News
Forrest W. Pitts, MD, FACP Richmond
1994 Barbara A. Mella, MD Fairfax
Michael J. Moore, MD, FACP Roanoke
Percy Wootton, MD, FACP Richmond
1995 Donald W. Drew, MD, FACP Norfolk
William S. Erwin, Jr, MD, FACP Roanoke
Edwin J. Harvie, Jr, MD, FACP Danville
Alton R. Sharpe, Jr, MD, FACP Richmond
1996 William J. Hancock, MD, FACP Winchester
Donald R. Holsinger, MD, FACP Martinsville
C. Patrick Laughlin, MD, FACP Newport News
Philip T. Rodilosso, MD, FACP Arlington
1997 James N. Cooper, MD, FACP Falls Church
Russell D. Evett, MD, FACP Norfolk
Duncan S. Owen, Jr, MD, FACP Richmond
1998 H. Courtenay Harrison, Sr, MD Virginia Beach
John A. Owen, Jr, MD Charlottesville
William E. Reefe, MD, FACP Roanoke
1999 Oscar (Oz) Edmunds Edwards, MD, FACP Norfolk
2000 H. Verdain Barnes, MD, MDiv, FACP, FSAM, FAAP(a) Norfolk
Kenneth H. Hyatt, MD, FACP Roanoke
Munsey S. Wheby, MD, FACP Charlottesville
2001 John Staige, Davis, IV, MD, MACP Charlottesville
William P. Edmondson, MD, FACP Norfolk
Lawrence Gaydos, MD Arlington
2002 Vicken V. Kalbian, MD, FACP Winchester
Harvey D. Smallwood, MD Charlottesville
Michael O. Thorner, MD, FACP Charlottesville
2003 Robert S. Gibson, MD, FACP Charlottesville
Michael F. Rein, MD, MACP Charlottesville
Lawrence R. Burwell, MD, FACP Charlottesville
2004 Leon P. Georges, MD, FACP Norfolk
Robert Carey, MD, MACP Charlottesville
2005 Jeffrey P. Harris, MD, FACP Millwood
Paul Dallas, MD, FACP Roanoke
2006/07 Laurel Tschirgi, MD, FACP Winchester
W. Hal Cragun, MD, FACP, FCCP Roanoke
2008 Sarah T. Corley, MD, FACP McLean
Richard P Wenzel, MD, MACP Richmond
2009 Barry S. Strauch, MD FACP McLean
2010 William Benton Lewis, MD FACP Martinsville
2011 Robert M. Strieter, MD MACP Charlottesville
2012 John Clore MD FACP Richmond
2013 John E. Nestler, MD, FACP Richmond
2014 John H. Armstrong, MD, FACP Winchester
Jerry L. Nadler, MD, FACP Norfolk
2015 Wendy Klein, MD, MACP Richmond

Page updated: 3/25/15