• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

May 2012 LtCol Rechell Rodriguez, MD, FACP, ACP Governor

From the Governor

Dr. Rodriguez

In case you’re someone that doesn’t read the whole newsletter, I would like to first start off by saying ‘Thank You’ to those who are separating or retiring from the Air Force this summer. On behalf of the Air Force Chapter, we thank you for your service, we will miss you and we wish you well in your next endeavor! In case you didn’t know, you can remain a member of the Air Force ACP Chapter even after you leave. You may also join or switch to your state ACP chapter if you choose.

I thought I would share some new information I heard regarding changes to the ABIM recertification process beginning 2013. The exam will still remain every 10 years, however the maintenance of certification modules or activities can not be put off until time of recertification. The new requirement will be that you must document some activity every 2 years. The fee for recertification will be more flexible to allow either a one-time fee of $1900 or an annual payment which is 1/10th of the total i.e. $190/year for 10 years. Some of the activity can be attained by attending national ACP sessions and taking a quiz afterwards. MKSAP is another way to document activity. So keep an eye out for the next letter you receive from ABIM as likely it will explain the new recertification process.

This year’s national ACP meeting was held in New Orleans, LA April 19-21. It was nice to see the Big Easy flourishing again with tourists compared to my last visit just a year after Hurricane Katrina.

Cafe du Monde
Cafe du Monde

Navy Week was also being celebrated for the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812 and many tourists had the opportunity to visit some tall ships and new Navy ships.

Tall Ships
Tall Ships

Navy Ship
Navy Ship

Jackson Square
Jackson Square

French Quarter
French Quarter at night

There were excellent sessions throughout the entire meeting on a wide variety of topics.

Congratulations to all our colleagues who became Fellows of the ACP this past year: Maj Misael C. Alonso, Maj Gregory T. Austad, Lt Col Teresa O. Bisnett, Dr. Carl W. Bourne, Maj Angelique N. Collamer, Lt Col Patrick J. Danaher, Col Brian J. Dykstra, Lt Col James A. Graham, Maj Bernard Hildebrand, Maj Brian K. Hogan, Capt Isaac P. Humphrey, Dr. Gordon James, Dr. Michael L. Landrum, Maj Adrian G. Letz, Maj Donald J. Martin, Lt Col Laveta McDowell, Col Jeffrey D. Medland, MAJ Viseth Ngauy, Maj Jason F. Okulicz, Maj Hans F. Otto, Lt Col Alyssa C Perroy, Maj Temple Ratcliffe, Dr. Michael R. Savona, Maj Karen Sky, Maj Karolyn Teufel, Maj Mark Vishnepolsky and Maj Heather C. Yun.

Convocation Announcement
Two of our Fellows were supposed to march in this year’s Convocation ceremony, however, they were not able to participate.

It is an honor to represent your chapter at the Convocation Ceremony. You do have up to three years to march after being appointed a Fellow so there is still time for some of you to participate in next year’s national meeting which I highly encourage. Congratulations to COL Gregory Argyros (former Governor of the Army ACP Chapter) who became a Master of the ACP this year!

I noticed that many members’ ranks are incorrect but unfortunately I don’t have access to change that in the ACP database therefore I will request that if your rank is incorrect please email Laura Dutton with your rank updates. You do have the ability on the ACP website to change your e-mail address by updating your profile. This is also a good time for me to remind you to pay your annual ACP dues.

Congratulations to all of our Associates who competed at the national level! Competing in the clinical vignette poster competition was Capt Daniel Hatcher from Keesler Medical Center who qualified by winning at our Army and Air Force meeting last Fall.

Capt. Daniel Hatcher
Capt. Daniel Hatcher

There were some residents who submitted abstracts directly to ACP and were accepted to present: Capt John Magulick, Capt Stephen Park and Capt Fred Rawlins from SAMMC.

Capt. Fred Rawlins
Capt Fred Rawlins

Capt. Stephen Park
Capt Stephen Park

Capt. Sabrina Sumner
Capt Sabrina Sumner from Keesler Medical Center

Hailing from Biloxi, Mississippi -Keesler’s residency program had a strong showing at this year’s meeting under the guidance of their Program Director Lt Col Michael Forgione.

Keesler Group
L to R: Capt Daniel Hatcher, Capt Sabrina Sumner, Lt Col Michael Forgione and Capt Adam Ackerman.

Our Doctors Dilemma Air Force team from San Antonio Military Medical Center featured Capt John Magulick, Capt Michelle Orme and CPT Nicole Vietor who represented us well.

Air Force Team SAMMC

ACP Doctor's Dilemma
ACP Doctors Dilemma 2012

Congratulations to one of our Air Force medical students! 2dLt Kallyn Johnson (USUHS) who was selected by the Air Force Chapter Council and USUHS Department of Medicine as the top Air Force student for our Chapter Medical Student Award which goes to the top Air Force USUHS student pursuing an Internal Medicine residency. She will be going to Wright Patterson’s Internal Medicine Residency Program this July.

Triservice Reception 2012
Triservice Reception 2012

We were glad to see so many of you come to our Tri-Service Military Reception.

It was nice to also see former members and friends of our chapter come by to say hello.

As my term as Governor is coming to an end the Spring of 2013, I want to thank my council: Maj Angelique Collamer, Maj Brian White, Lt Col David Carnahan, Maj Diane Homeyer, Lt Col James Graham, Maj Jason Lane, Maj Jeff LaRochelle, Col Paul Hemmer, Capt Kelly Bristow, Lt Col Michael Forgione, Lt Col Patrick Monahan, Maj Nathan Evans, Col Helen Hootsmans, Lt Col Donald Kowalewski, Dr. Roberto Colon, Maj Temple Ratcliffe, Lt Col Teresa Bisnett, Col William Venanzi, and Lt Col William Hannah. The announcement for nominations for the Governor position will be forthcoming from the Internal Medicine Consultant.

Save the date for the first ever Tri-Service Air Force, Army and Navy meeting to be held November 1-3, 2012 in Bethesda, MD at the Hyatt Regency. The military chapter Governors are excited about this Fall’s meeting and look forward to seeing you all there.

Military Governors
Military Governors: L to R: Col Lisa L. Zacher, MD, FACP, CAPT Mark L. Dick, MD, FACP, and Lt Col Rechell G. Rodriguez, MD, FACP

The next national ACP meeting will be held April 11-13, 2013 in San Francisco, CA. Looking forward to marching with some of our fellows in California! Until next time, take care and best wishes!

Lt Col Rechell Rodriguez, M.D., F.A.C.P.
ACP Governor, Air Force Chapter