• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

North Dakota Chapter Banner

December 2013 Julie A. Blehm, MD, FACP, ACP Governor

From the Governor

Dr. Blehm

Happy Holidays to all of you. We now have plenty of snow in Fargo that my daughter, who is in Special Olympics, loves as she snowshoes. It is amazing how it can go from 30 plus degrees and no snow to multiple inches of snow and below zero in less than 48 hours. I guess that is what we should expect in North Dakota.

Our fall meeting held in Fargo on October 4 was a great success. The speakers were all very good and the topics were interesting and practical. We presented Dr. William Newman with the Lifetime Achievement Award, Dr. LaVaun McCann with the Distinguished Teacher/Mentor Award and Representative Robert Skarpol with the Community Service Award.

Dr. McCann

Dr. LaVaun McCann (right) with the Distinguished Teacher/Mentor Award


Dr. William Newman being presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award

We have the results of our election for the new Governor who will begin his term in April 2015. Dr. Neville Alberto is the new Governor-elect Designee.

We are excited to announce that one of our prominent North Dakotans in the health care arena, Mary Wakefield, PhD, has been selected to receive the John F. Boyle Award for distinguished public service. The award will be presented at the Internal Medicine 2014 ACP meeting in Orlando, Florida in April 2014.

Please consider attending internal Medicine 2014 in Orlando. The dates are April 10-12 with pre courses on April 8 and 9. As usual it promises to be an excellent meeting. Please let me know if any of you will be walking in the convocation ceremonies to receive your fellowship.

I believe the following two articles are well worth reading. The first is by Dr. Christine Sinsky, a practicing internist who has been researching the topic of practice satisfaction. The title of this article is “ In Search of Joy In Practice”.

Dr. Molly Cooke’s(ACP president) presentation on the progress made in Congress on repeal of the SGR and Medicare Payment Reform.