• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

January 24, 2012

Dear Chapter Members,

Our Chapter meeting scheduled to begin at Noon on Friday, February 3rd at Turf Valley is quickly approaching. If you have not already done so, please be sure to send or email your registration today by contacting Maryellen Woodward, our Maryland ACP chapter staff.

In addition to earning 9.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)TM, by attending this meeting we will hear updates on such topics as treatments of sudden death, Hepatitis C, Rash Rashes, medical genetics, ACOs, and how to perform the new Medicare wellness visit. Other offerings are the always popular Clinical Problem Solving as well as our Doctors’ DilemmaTM competition.

NEW THIS YEAR: If you are interested in the activities of some of our very popular subcommittees, please join us Saturday morning at 7:30 a.m.. for updates and information on our Young Physicians Council, chaired by Dr. Sapna Kuehl, IMG Committee, chaired by Dr. Janaki Deepak, and Women in Medicine Committee, chaired by Dr. Claudia Kroker. We would be delighted if you would like to join and participate in these committees' activities.

We will also be hosting an Advancement to Fellowship continental breakfast to give members interested in becoming Fellows an opportunity to hear information about how this can be easily accomplished. Please be sure to join Dr. Stephanie Detterline, our Membership Chair, and myself on Saturday at 7:30 a.m.

Congratulations to the following physicians who have been selected for our awards in 2012. They will be presented during the reception held on Friday, February 3, beginning at 5:45 p.m. A detailed bio and pictures for each of our winners will be found on our Web site after the conclusion of our meeting. Please be sure to congratulate:

Myron L. Weisfeldt, MD, FACP – Theodore Woodward Award for Outstanding Contributions to Medical Education
Barry S. Handwerger, MD - Mary Betty Stevens Award for Excellence in Clinical Investigation
Saba S. Sheikh, MD, FACP - Samuel Asper Award for Excellence in Internal Medicine
Daniel J. Brotman, MD, FACP - Outstanding Hospitalist Physician Award
Eugene Shenderov - Philip Mackowiak Student Achievement Award

The complete scientific program and a registration form are available online.

It will be a dynamic and informative meeting – plan to join us!

R. Dobbin Chow, MD, FACP

Page updated: 11/10/11

Contact Information

Stephen D. Sisson, MD, FACP,
Governor, Maryland Chapter

Maryellen Woodward
920 Trinity Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
Chapter Administrator
Office: 410-332-8444
E-mail: mew4work@aol.com