• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

Chapter Awards

The Chapter is pleased to honor the following chapter award recipients for their dedication, demonstration of excellence, and support of the chapter and the science and humanity of medicine.

John F. Maher Memorial Laureate Award

The John F. Maher Memorial Laureate Award is the highest award that the DC Chapter can bestow on any of its members. It was begun in 1993 in memory of a superb physician, friend, teacher and writer who had developed an international reputation in renal disease.

2010 Alice L. Fuisz, MD, FACP
2011 Lawrence Lessin, MD, MACP
2012 Louis Pangaro, MD, MACP
2013 Henry Masur, MD, MACP
2014 Laurie E. Duncan, MD, FACP

Sol Katz Teaching Award

2010 Leonard B. Seeff, MD
2011 Burton Lee, MD and April Barber, MD
2012 Robert Jablonover, MD and Sean Whelton, MD
2013 Charles Faselis, MD, FACP and LCDR Todd Gleeson MC
2014 Michael Adams, MD, MACP

Volunteerism and Community Service Award

2010 Katalin E. Roth, MD, FACP
2011 Raymond L. Martins, MD
2012 Elise Riley, MD
2013 A. Janelle Goetcheus, MD
2014 James F. Duffy, SJ, MD


2010 Laurie E. Duncan, MBBS, FACP
2011 Shmuel Shoham, MD
2012 Jerry Meyer, MD, FACP
2013 Ashesh Patel, MD, FACP
2014 Lawrence E. Klein, MD, MACP

Walter Lester Henry, Jr. Memorial Award for a Lifetime of Excellent Teaching

2010 Vinod Mody, MD
2010 Charles E. Rath, MD, FACP
2011 John Bennett, MD, MACP and Charles Curry, MD
2012 Martin Dillard, MD, MACP and Margo Smith, MD, FACP
2013 Kenneth Burman, MD, MACP and Edward Tsou, MD
2014 James D. Finkelstein, MD, MACP and Davis J. Nashel, MD, FACP

Chapter Awards Given Prior to 2010


Page updated: 12/17/14

Contact Information

Alice L. Fuisz, MD, FACP
Governor, DC Chapter

Chapter Support Staff
Ann Tennett
Executive Director
Phone: 540-631-0426