• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

ACP Announces New Masters and Awardees for 2014

The Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the Board of Regents has approved the following individuals and institutions to receive College awards and Masterships at Internal Medicine 2014. If you would like to personally congratulate any of the new awardees or Masters, please contact Meghann Williams, Administrator, Awards Program, by e-mail at mewilliams@acponline.org, 800-523-1546, ext. 2714 or 215-351-2714.

An additional notification is being sent to all who wrote supporting letters for nominations, announcing the winners and inviting supporters to enhance nominations for the next cycle plus submit new nominations. A general call for new nominations will be issued in January.

Please join us in congratulating the awardees and new Masters.

John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine
Antonio M. Gotto Jr., MD, FACP
Houston, Texas

James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine
Lisa A. Cooper, MD, FACP
Baltimore, Maryland

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians
W. James Stackhouse, MD, MACP
Goldsboro, North Carolina

American College of Physicians Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine
David C. Dale, MD, MACP
Seattle, Washington

Edward R. Loveland Memorial Award for a Distinguished Contribution in the Health Field
Cherokee Nation
Tahlequah, Oklahoma

William C. Menninger Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Science of Mental Health
Charles P. O'Brien, MD, PhD
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania

Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award
Frank M. Calia, MD, MACP
Baltimore, Maryland

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award #1 from The Rosenthal Family Foundation
H. Clifford Lane, MD, FACP
Cabin John, Maryland

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award #2 from The Rosenthal Family Foundation
Barbara G. Cook, MD
Cockeysville, Maryland

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion of a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients
Lawrence Feinberg, MD, FACP
Aurora, Colorado

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award for Outstanding Contributions to Humanism in Medicine
Steven J. Peitzman, MD, FACP
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award
Howard O. Kerpen, MD, FACP
Oyster Bay, New York

Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service
Mary Wakefield, PhD, RN
Grand Forks, North Dakota

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service
Marianito O. Asperilla, MD, FACP
Port Charlotte, Florida

Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians
Ryan D. Mire, MD, FACP
Nashville, Tennessee

Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award
Jacqueline Lynn Green, MD, MPH
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator
Neeral L. Shah, MD, FACP
Charlottesville, Virginia

W. Lester Henry Award for Diversity and Access to Care
Stacey M. Higgins, MD, FACP
Atlanta, Georgia


Mohamad Salim Al-Hadramy, MD, FACP
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

Clarence Braddock, MD, FACP
Palo Alto, California

S. Kalani Brady, MD, MPH, FACP
Honolulu, Hawaii

Jeffrey B. Cole, MC USN, FACP
Chesapeake, Virginia

Molly Cooke, MD, FACP
San Francisco, California

Douglas G. Couper, MD, FACP
Falmouth, Maine

Charles Cutler, MD, FACP
Merion Station, Pennsylvania

Dawn DeWitt, MD, FACP
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Arnold R. Eiser, MD, FACP
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania

Ezekiel J. Emanuel, MD, FACP
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Lawrence Feinberg, MD, FACP
Aurora, Colorado

Robert P. Ferguson, MD, FACP
Baltimore, Maryland

Mitchell D. Forman, DO, FACP
Henderson, Nevada

Fred M. Gordin, MD, FACP
Washington, District of Columbia

Ved V. Gossain, MD, FACP
East Lansing, Michigan

Antonio M. Gotto Jr., MD, FACP
Houston, Texas

Clark R. Gregg, MD, FACP
Fort Worth, Texas

Alan A. Harris, MD, FACP
Chicago, Illinois

Gustavo Heudebert, MD, FACP
Birmingham, Alabama

Marc C. Hochberg, MD, FACP
Baltimore, Maryland

Paul F. Howard, MD, FACP
Scottsdale, Arizona

Linda Humphrey, MD, FACP
Portland, Oregon

John M. Kalbfleisch, MD, FACP
Tulsa, Oklahoma

David E. Kern, MD, FACP
Baltimore, Maryland

Wendy S. Klein, MD, FACP
Richmond, Virginia

Nayan K. Kothari, MD, FACP
New Brunswick, New Jersey

James B. Lewis Jr., MD, FACP
Memphis, Tennessee

Glenn D. Littenberg, MD, FACP
Pasadena, California

Robert M. Lubitz, MD, MPH, FACP
Marietta, Georgia

Walter J. Moore, MD, FACP
Augusta, Georgia

Rodney R. Parry, MD, FACP
Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Mary Rappazzo, MD, FACP
Albany, New York

Douglas K. Rex, MD, FACP
Indianapolis, Indiana

P. Preston Reynolds, MD, FACP
Charlottesville, Virginia

William Rodriguez-Cintrón, MD, FACP
Rio Piedras, Puerto Rico

Jose A. Rodriguez-Portales, MD, FACP
Santiago, Chile

Janet Roscoe, MD, FACP
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Eric J. Scher, MD, FACP
Troy, Michigan

James L. Sebastian, MD, FACP
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin

Stewart W. Shankel, MD, FACP
Redlands, California

Michael Weisz, MD, FACP
Tulsa, Oklahoma

Michael H. Zaroukian, MD, PhD, FACP
East Lansing, Michigan

Related Links

  • Past Leadership: Past Masters of the American College of Physicians, 1923 to the Present.
  • Convocation: Discover the tradition of Convocation at the American College of Physicians.

Meet ACP's Leadership

Sign-up for Physician & Practice Timeline text alerts and never miss another regulatory deadline!

Sign-up for Physician & Practice Timeline  text alerts and never miss another regulatory deadline!

Triggered text alerts aimed at keeping you on top of upcoming deadlines and details related to regulatory, payment, and delivery system requirements are available FREE of charge!
See sign-up instructions.

Pre-order MKSAP17 Complete and Save 15%!

Pre-order MKSAP17 Complete and Save 15%!

Enter priority code PR58 when ordering. Limited time only. Order now.