• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

ACP Announces New Masters and Awardees for 2013

The Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the Board of Regents has approved the following individuals and institutions to receive College awards and Masterships at Internal Medicine 2013. If you would like to personally congratulate any of the new awardees or Masters, please contact Meghann Williams, Coordinator, Governance Relations, by e-mail at mewilliams@acponline.org, 800-523-1546, ext. 2714 or 215-351-2714.

An additional notification is being sent to all who wrote supporting letters for nominations, announcing the winners and inviting supporters to enhance nominations for the next cycle plus submit new nominations. A general call for new nominations will be issued in January.

Please join us in congratulating the awardees and new Masters.

John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine
Kenneth L. Becker, MD, MACP, Washington, District of Columbia

James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine
Michael J. Klag, MD, FACP, Baltimore, Maryland

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians
Joseph W. Stubbs, MD, MACP, Albany, Georgia

American College of Physicians Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine
Christopher Plowe, MD, Columbia, Maryland
Douglas Wallace, PhD, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

William C. Menninger Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Science of Mental Health
William T. Carpenter, MD, Baltimore, Maryland

Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award
Bennett Lorber, MD, MACP, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award #1 from The Rosenthal Family Foundation
No award given in 2013

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award #2 from The Rosenthal Family Foundation
Sanjeev Arora, MBBS, FACP, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion of a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients
N. Thomas Connally, MD, MACP, Arlington, Virginia

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award for Outstanding Contributions to Humanism in Medicine
Joel D. Howell, MD, FACP, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award
William H. Lipshutz, MD, FACP, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service
Richard J. Baron, MD, MACP, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service
Prerna Mona Khanna, MD, FACP, Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois

Alvan R. Feinstein Award for Patient Care in the Field of Clinical Epidemiology
David W. Baker, MD, FACP, Chicago, Illinois

Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians
Lawrence D. Ward, MD, FACP, Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania

Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award
Fatima C. Stanford, MD, Boston, Massachusetts

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator
Bernard M. Karnath, MD, FACP, Galveston, Texas

American College of Physicians Award for Diversity and Access to Care
Janice M. Barnhart, MD, FACP, Bronx, New York

Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award for Contributions in Diabetes
Louis S. Snitkoff, MD, FACP, Albany, New York


Mohammed Ahmed, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
T. Andrew Albritton, North Augusta, South Carolina
Asok C. Antony, Indianapolis, Indiana
Robert A. Balk, Chicago, Illinois
Daniel F. Battafarano, Fort Sam Houston, Texas
Donald R. Bordley, Pittsford, New York
David G. Borenstein, Washington, District of Columbia
David L. Bronson, Cleveland, Ohio
Richard E. Bryant, Portland, Oregon
Roger W. Bush, Seattle, Washington
Grant W. Cannon, Salt Lake City, Utah
Richard W. Carlson, Phoenix, Arizona
Humayun J. Chaudhry, Euless, Texas
David W. Crabb, Indianapolis, Indiana
Manuel De Ycaza, Panama, Panama
T.S. Dharmarajan, Scarsdale, New York
Cynthia E. Dunbar, Washington, District of Columbia
Randall S. Edson, Rochester, Minnesota
John F. Fieselmann, Iowa City, Iowa
Dale N. Gerding, Hines, Illinois
Phyllis A. Guze, Riverside, California
David A. Hindson, Boise, Idaho
John I. Hughes, Houston, Texas
Stephen M. Korbet, Chicago, Illinois
Daniel M. Lichtstein, West Palm Beach, Florida
Fred A. Lopez, New Orleans, Louisiana
Michael F. Lubin, Atlanta, Georgia
Geno J. Merli, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jose M. Muniz, Weston, Florida
Mary M. Newman, Lutherville, Maryland
Michael S. Niederman, Mineola, New York
Luis Eduardo Penny, Lima, Peru
Bruce W. Polsky, New York, New York
Guillermo J. Ruiz-Arguelles, Puebla Pue, Mexico
John R. Sedor, Cleveland, Ohio
J. Marc Shabot, Galveston, Texas
Reza Shaker, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Samuel M. Silver, Ann Arbor, Michigan
C. Scott Smith, Boise, Idaho
Jack D. Sobel, West Bloomfield, Michigan
Joseph M. Turner, Tifton, Georgia
Helen R. Turner, Jackson, Mississippi
Nuria M. Tortosa, Paitilla, Panama
Howard H. Weitz, Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Ralph C. Williams Jr., Santa Fe, New Mexico
Francis M. Wilson, Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Jerald Winakur, Comfort, Texas

Related Links

  • Past Leadership: Past Masters of the American College of Physicians, 1923 to the Present.
  • Convocation: Discover the tradition of Convocation at the American College of Physicians.

Meet ACP's Leadership

Sign-up for Physician & Practice Timeline text alerts and never miss another regulatory deadline!

Sign-up for Physician & Practice Timeline  text alerts and never miss another regulatory deadline!

Triggered text alerts aimed at keeping you on top of upcoming deadlines and details related to regulatory, payment, and delivery system requirements are available FREE of charge!
See sign-up instructions.

Pre-order MKSAP17 Complete and Save 15%!

Pre-order MKSAP17 Complete and Save 15%!

Enter priority code PR58 when ordering. Limited time only. Order now.