You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Patient Partnership in Healthcare Committee

Reports to: Board of Regents

Visit the Committee Forum (current committee members only)


To advise the Board of Regents and ACP Staff on how to help physicians leverage the investment of patients in their own health, and how to help patients become informed advocates and active patients in their care through development and provision of high quality, accessible information for patients; facilitating partnerships and effective communication among patients, physicians, and other health care professionals; fostering collaborations with organized patient groups, industry, and others; and developing programs and resources to facilitate authentic engagement of patients in their care.

Composition (11-12):

Chair; 10 – 11 members comprised of at least one Regent or former Regent (within three years of coming off of the Board of Regents), one Governor, two non-physician clinicians (e.g., nurse, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or pharmacist); one representative appointed by each of two patient organizations, one resident/fellow member and one early career physician; two to three at-large positions for ACP members.


One-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the Chair, BOR.

2018-19 Members:

Steven E. Weinberger, MD, MACP, Chair
Executive Vice President and CEO Emeritus
American College of Physicians
Philadelphia, PA
Specialties: PUL, Critical Care

Michael J. Barry, MD, MACP
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA
Specialty:  IM

Jan K. Carney, MD, MPH, FACP
(Governor) Vermont
Associate Dean for Public Health
Professor of Medicine
University of Vermont College of Medicine
Burlington, VT
Specialty: IM

Ryan D. Mire, MD, FACP (Regent)
Private Practice
Heritage Medical Associates
Nashville, TN
Specialty: IM

Elizabeth K. Hoy (Libby)
Patient Family Centered Care Partners
Long Beach, CA

Lucy Kalanithi, MD, FACP
Palo Alto, CA
Specialty: IM

Sandra Myerson, MBA, RN, MS
Yardley, PA

Mitch Rothholz, MBA
Chief of Staff
American Pharmacists Association
Washington, DC

Patricia E. Sadler, MD, FACP
(Governor) South Carolina
Medical Director
Hospice of Laurens County, Inc.
Clinton, SC
Specialties: IM, Hospice and Palliative Medicine

Juliette Schlucter
New York, NY

Eddie Hackler, MD (CRFM)
Dallas, TX

Megha Garg, MD, MPH (CECP)
San Francisco, CA
Specialty: IM

Staff Liaison: Daisy Smith
Monica Lizarraga,