You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are here

Membership Committee

Reports to: Vice President, Membership

View committee forum (current committee members only)


Advise management on approaches to promote and advance the continuing growth and diversity of all classes of membership and to ensure that all members can share in ACP's material and intellectual resources.

Composition (10-14)

Chair, who is the Vice-President, Membership; 8 to 12 members including general membership and governance, determined by management based on their advisory needs; one member who is Chapter Staff. (BOR approved 11/14)


One-year, renewable up to three times for total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the CEO. Chapter staff position is one-year, renewable one time for a total of two years

2017-18 Members

Philip Masters, MD, FACP, Vice President, Membership, Chair
Philadelphia, PA

Specialty: IM

Ebrahim Barkoudah, MD, MPH, FACP
Boston, MA
Specialty: IM

Richard W. Burns, MD, FACP
(Governor) Missouri
Associate Chief, Primary Care
Harry S. Truman Memorial Veteran’s Hospital
Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine
University of Missouri-Columbia School of Medicine
Columbia, MO
Specialty: IM

Jeffrey B. Cole, MD, MACP
Chesapeake, VA
Specialty: GER

Gordon L. Fung, MD, PhD, FACC, FASH, FACP
Clinical Professor of Medicine
UCSF School of Medicine
Director, Asian Health & Vascular Center
Director, Cardiac Services & Electrocardiography Lab
UCSF Medical Center at Mount Zion
San Francisco, CA
Specialties: CD, Hypertension

Sarah E. Hartley, MD, FACP
Ypsilanti, MI
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Suja Mariam Mathew, MD, FACP
(Governor) Illinois Northern
Chair, Department of Medicine
Cook County Health & Hospitals System
Chicago, IL
Specialty: IM, Hospital Medicine

Louis D. Saravolatz, MD, MACP
(Governor) Michigan
Professor and Chairman
Department of Medicine
St. John Hospital and Medical Center
Wayne State University School of Med
Grossse Pointe Woods, MI
Specialties: IM, ID

Donna P. Seminara, MD, FACP
(Governor) New York Brooklyn/Queens/Staten Island
Island Internist
Staten Island, NY
Specialty: IM, GER

Stephen D. Sisson, MD, FACP
(Governor) Maryland
Philip A. Tumulty Professor of Medicine
Executive Director, Ambulatory Services
The Johns Hopkins Hospital
Baltimore, MD
Specialty: IM

Samuel Calvin Thigpen, MD, FACP (CECP)
(Governor) Mississippi
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine
Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, MS
Specialty: Medical Oncology

Zachary C. Junga, MD (CRFM)
Silver Spring, MD

Ashruta Patel (CSM)
Auburn, GA

Nicole Abbott (Chapter Staff)
Austin, TX

Staff Liaison: Phil Masters,