You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Medical Practice and Quality Committee


Recommend to the Board of Regents national, state or local policies on (1) improvement of access, payment, coverage, coding, documentation, and medical review; (2) development of a national health information infrastructure; (3) implementation of health information technology in internists' offices. Develop programs to support the quality, safety and affordability of patient care. Represent ACP to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and advise the BOR of the agency's perspectives.

Composition (12)

Chair, who is a Regent; Vice-Chair, who is a Governor; Chair of Coding and Payment Subcommittee; nine members to include at least one Regent, at least one Governor, one Resident/Fellow member and one Early Career Physician member.


Chair, Vice Chair, members-at-large serve one year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents.

2018-19 Members

Jacqueline W. Fincher, MD, MACP, Chair
Managing Partner
McDuffie Medical Associates
Thomson, GA
Specialty: IM

William E. Fox, MD, FACP, Vice Chair
(Governor) Virginia
Fox and Brantley Internal Medicine, PLC
Charlottesville, VA
Specialty: IM

Peter Basch, MD, MACP
Senior Director, IT Quality and Safety, and National Health IT
Policy, MedStar Health
Washington, DC
Specialty: IM

Jason M. Goldman, MD, FACP
(Governor) Florida
Private Practice
Coral Springs, FL
Specialty: IM

Tanvir Hussain, MD, FACP
Vice President, Quality, Alameda Health System
Inpatient General Medicine Attending, Highland General Hospital
Oakland, CA
Specialty: IM

Sandra Abadie Kemmerly, MD, MACP
New Orleans, LA
Specialty: ID

Michael (Doug) Leahy, MD, MACP
Summit Medical Group
Powell, TN
Specialty: IM

Ryan D. Mire, MD, FACP
Private Practice
Heritage Medical Associates
Nashville, TN
Specialty: IM

Marianne C. Parshley, MD, FACP
(Governor) Oregon
Oregon Health and Science University
Providence Medical Group Gateway Internal Medicine
Portland, OR
Specialties: IM, GER

Steven R. Peskin, MD, FACP
Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine
Rutgers- Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Director, Internal Medicine Grand Rounds
University Medical Center Princeton at Plainsboro
Senior Medical Director Clinical Innovations
Horizon Healthcare Innovations
New Brunswick, NJ
Specialty: IM

Louis S. Snitkoff, MD, FACP
(Governor) New York Hudson Valley
Chief Medical Officer
CapitalCare Medical Group
Albany, NY

Erica P. Turse, DO (CRFM)
Columbia, Mo

Lacy C. Hobgood, MD FACP (CECP)
Greenville, NC
Specialties: IM/Pediatrics

Staff Liaison: Brian Outland