You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are here

Health and Public Policy Committee


Develop and assist with implementation of College policy on issues affecting the health care of the American public and the practice of internal medicine and its subspecialties.

Composition (13)

Chair, who is a Regent; Vice-Chair, who is a Governor; 11 members, including at least one Regent, at least one Governor, one Resident/Fellow member, one Medical Student, and one Early Career Physician member.


Chair, Vice Chair, and members-at-large serve one year terms, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents.

2017-18 Members

Sue S. Bornstein, MD, FACP, Chair
Executive Director
Texas Medical Home Initiative
Dallas, TX
Specialty: IM

Gregory C. Kane, MD, FACP, Vice Chair
(Governor) Pennsylvania Southeastern
The Jane and Leonard Korman Professor of Pulmonary Medicine
Chairman Dept of Medicine
The Sidney Kimmel Medical College
Thomas Jefferson University
Philadelphia, PA
Specialty: IM

Mary Anderson Wallace, MD, FACP, SFHM
Assistant Professor of Medicine
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Aurora, CO
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Jan K. Carney, MD, MPH, FACP
(Governor) Vermont
Associate Dean for Public Health
Professor of Medicine
University of Vermont College of Medicine
Burlington, VT
Specialty: IM

Heather E. Gantzer, MD, FACP
Internist, General Internal Medicine
Park Nicollet Clinic
Methodist Hospital
St. Louis Park, MN
Specialty:  IM

Tracey L. Henry, MD, MPH, MS
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA

Joshua D. Lenchus, DO, SFHM, FACP
Associate Professor of Medicine, Anesthesiology, and Radiology
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Davie, FL
Specialty:  Hospital Medicine

Joseph M. Li, SFHM, MD, FACP
Associate Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Chief, Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital Med
Boston, MA
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Bridget M. McCandless, MD, FACP
Health Care Foundation of Greater Kansas City
Independence, MO
Specialty: IM

Beth R. Nalitt, MD FACP
(Governor) New Jersey Northern
Barnabus Health
Millburn NJ
Specialty: IM

Lavanya Viswanathan, MD, MS
Gastroenterology Fellow
Georgia Regents University
Augusta, GA

Caleb J. Murphy (CSM)
Saint Paul, MN

Ayeetin Azah, MD (CRFM)
Cherry Point, NC

Susan W. Lane, MD, FACP (AAIM Rep) (Guest)
Setauket, NY
Specialty: IM

Staff Liaison: Renee Butkus