You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Governance Committee


Assure effective governance structures and processes through education, recruitment, oversight and evaluation of the Board of Regents, Committees and Councils.

Responsibilities include:

  1. Recruiting and nominating the ACP President-elect, Chair-elect of the Board of Regents, Chair-elect of the Board of Governors, the Treasurer and new Regent members of the Board of Regents.
  2. Overseeing nominations and election policy for all elected governance positions College-wide.
  3. Assuring effective culture and practices of the Board of Regents and its individual members through education and evaluation.
  4. Assessing and addressing the organization's governance needs.
  5. Overseeing appointments to committees and councils established by the Board of Regents.
  6. Assessing, managing and communicating Conflict of Interest disclosures.
  7. Implementing changes to the ACP Bylaws as requested and for approval by the Board of Regents and assuring College-wide compliance.

Composition (10)

Immediate Past Chair BOR, who is Chair; Chair, BOR, who is Vice Chair; Chair-elect, BOR; Immediate Past President; 2 Regents; 3 Governors (in years 2-4 of their terms); Chair-elect, BOG, Immediate Past President.


Length of time to coincide with position held. Members-at-large serve one-year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents.

2018-19 Members

Susan Thompson Hingle, MD, MACP, Chair (Immediate Past Chair, BOR)
Professor of Medicine
SIU School of Medicine
Springfield, IL
Specialty: IM

Andrew Dunn, MD, MPH, SFHM, MACP, Vice Chair
(Chair, Board of Regents)
Professor of Medicine
Chief, Division of Hospital Medicine
Mount Sinai Health System
New York, NY
Specialty: IM

Omar T. Atiq, MD, FACP (Regent)
(Chair-elect, Board of Governors)
Professor of Medicine
Associate Director, Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Director, Arkansas Cancer Institute
Little Rock, AR
Specialty: IM, ON, HEM

Eileen D. Barrett, MD, MPH, FHM, FACP (Regent)
Division of Hospital Medicine
Department of Internal Medicine
University of New Mexico School of Medicine
Albuquerque, NM
Specialty: IM

Matt Bien, MD, FACP, FAAP
(Governor)  South Dakota
Internal Medicine Pediatrics
Avera Medical Group
Associate Professor
University of South Dakota
Brookings, SD
Specialties: IM, PED

Marvin J. Bittner, MD, FACP
(Governor) Nebraska
Omaha, NE
Associate Professor of Medicine and Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Creighton University School of Medicine
Omaha, NE
Specialties: ID, IM

Douglas M. DeLong, MD, FACP (Regent)
(Chair-elect, Board of Regents)
Chief, Division of General Internal Medicine
Bassett Health Care
Assistant Clinical Professor of Medicine
College of Physicians and Surgeons
Cooperstown NY
Specialties: IM/ GER

Jack Ende, MD, MACP
(Immediate Past President)
The Schaeffer Professor of Medicine
Perelman School of Medicine of
The University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA
Specialty: IM

Ana Maria Lopez, MD, MPH, MACP (President)
Chief of Cancer Services
Vice Chair of Medical Oncology
Thomas Jefferson University
Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center
Philadelphia, PA
Specialty: ON (Breast Ca)

Ryan D. Mire, MD, FACP (Regent)
Private Practice
Heritage Medical Associates
Nashville, TN
Specialty: IM

Isaac O. Opole, MD, PhD, FACP
(Governor)  Kansas
Associate Professor of Medicine
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
The University of Kansas Medical Center
Kansas City, KS

Staff Liaison: Joanne Ey