You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are here

Ethics, Professionalism and Human Rights Committee


To formulate principles and policies on ethics, professionalism, and human rights for the Board of Regents, uphold high ethical standards in medicine and advise the College's Center for Ethics and Professionalism.

Composition (12)

Chair, who is a Regent; Vice-Chair, who is a Governor; 10 members, including at least one Regent, at least one Governor, one Resident/Fellow member, one Medical Student, and one Early Career Physician member.


Chair, Vice Chair. And members-at-large serve one-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, BOR.

2016-17 Members

Carrie A. Horwitch, MD, FACP, Chair
Clinical Associate Professor
Seattle, WA
Specialty:  IM, HIV Care

Omar T. Atiq, MD, FACP, Vice Chair
(Governor) Arkansas
Professor of Medicine
Associate Director, Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Director, Arkansas Cancer Institute
Pine Bluff, AR
Specialties: IM, ON, HEM

John R. Ball, MD, MACP
Asheville, NC

Daniel B. Kimball, Jr., MD, FACP
Wyomissing, PA
Specialties: IM

Lisa S. Lehmann, MD, FACP
Newton, MA
Specialty: IM

Ana Maria Lopez, MD, MPH, FACP
Associate Vice President for Health Equity
and Inclusion
University of Utah Health Sciences
Salt Lake City, UT
Specialty: ON (Breast Cancer)

Paul S. Mueller, MD, FACP
Mayo Clinic
General Internal Medicine
Rochester, MN
Specialty: IM

Julie R. Rosenbaum, MD, FACP
Fairfield, CT
Specialty: IM

Molly B. Southworth, MD, MPH, FACE, FACP
(Governor) Alaska
Endocrinologist Alaska Native Medical Center
Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine
University of Washington School of Medicine
Affiliate of Alaska Professor of Biomedical Science
University of Alaska Anchorage/WWAMI Program
Anchorage, AK
Specialty: END

Alexandra Norcott, MD (CRFM)
West Haven, CT

Sima Suhas Pendharkar, MD, MPH, FACP (CECP)
Brooklyn, NY
Specialty: IM

Pooja Jaeel (CSM)
Los Angeles, CA

Staff Liaison: Lois Snyder Sulmasy, JD, Director, contact at or 215.351.2835