You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Chapters Subcommittee


Reports to:

Executive Committee of the Board of Governors


Recommend to the Executive Committee of the Board of Governors strategies to encourage the growth, development, and effective operation of all chapters; foster an effective network among chapters, the Board of Governors and the national organization; and national support for chapter activities.

Composition (8)

Chair, who is a Governor; six members, who are governors; one member who is chapter staff.


Governor positions are one-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the Chair, BOR. Chapter staff position is one-year, renewable one time for a total of two years.

2019-20 Members

Marianne C. Parshley, MD, FACP, Chair
(Governor) Oregon
Oregon Health and Science University
Providence Medical Group Gateway Internal Medicine
Portland, OR
Specialties: IM, GER

Leslie F. Algase, MD, FACP
(Governor) New York Upstate
Partners in Internal Medicine, LLP (private practice)
Clinical Assistant Professor
University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry
Rochester, NY

Saba A. Hasan, MD, FACP
(Governor) New Jersey Southern
Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency
Capital Health Regional Medical Center
Trenton, NJ
Specialty: IM

Pamela J. Hiebert, MD, FACP
(Governor) Montana
Primary Care Internist, Internal Med Associates
Assistant Medical Director, Bozeman Deaconess Hospice
Medical Director, Gallatin County Rest Home
Bozeman, MT
Specialty:  IM

Matthew F. Hollon, MD, MPH, FACP
(Governor) Washington
Clinical Professor, UW School of Medicine -- Gonzaga University Regional Health Partnership
Associate Program Director, Providence IM Residency Spokane
Spokane, WA
Specialty: IM

Cynthia Peacock, MD, FAAP, FACP
(Governor) Texas Southern
Associate Professor of Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX
Specialties: IM, PEDS

S. Calvin Thigpen, MD, FACP
(Governor) Mississippi
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine
Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, MS
Specialty: IM

Mary Daniels (Chapter Staff)
Flowery Branch, GA

Staff Liaison: Keirston Scott