You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are here

Awards Committee


To nominate to the Board of Regents recipients of College awards as determined by the Board of Regents, nominate candidates for Mastership, and recommend award and Mastership policy.

Composition (10)

Chair, who is a Regent; Vice-Chair, who is a Governor; eight members, including one Regent, one Governor, and six other Masters or Fellows.


Chair, Vice Chair, and members-at-large serve one year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, BOR.

2016-17 Members

Jack Ende, MD, MACP, Chair
The Schaeffer Professor of Medicine
Executive Medical Director, Penn Signature Services
Assoc. Dean for Advanced Medical Practice
Asst. Vice President, UPHS
Perelman School of Medicine at the
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA
Specialty: IM

Louis D. Saravolatz, MD, MACP , Vice Chair
(Governor) Michigan
Professor and Chairman
St. John Hospital and Medical Center
Wayne State University School of Medicine
Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Specialties:  IM, ID

Thomas A. Bledsoe, MD, FACP
Providence, RI
Specialty:  IM

Thomas C. Grau, MD, FACP
(Governor) Pennsylvania Western
Associate Professor
University of Pittsburgh School of Medici
Associate Program Director, UPMC Internal Medicine Residency
Pittsburgh, PA
Specialty:  IM

Paul L. Kimmel, MD, MACP
Washington, DC
Specialty:  Nephrology

Mark A. Levine, MD, FACP
Professor of Medicine
Assoc. Dean for Graduate Medical Education and
Designated Institutional Official
UVM Medical Center
Vice Chair for Education
Dept. of Medicine
UVM College of Medicine
Burlington, VT
Specialty: IM

J. Fred Ralston, Jr., MD, MACP
Fayetteville, TN
Specialty: IM

Rebecca A. Andrews, MD, FACP
Canton, CT
Specialties:  CD, IM

Angela C. Johnson, MD, FACP
Baton Rouge, LA
Specialties: IM, Hospital Medicine

Staff Liaison: Meghann Williams