You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Volunteerism Committee

Reports to:

Member of staff designated by the EVP/CEO

Charge

Advise management in ways to engage ACP members in medical and nonmedical volunteerism activities at the local, national and international level.

Composition (14-18)

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; 13 to 17 members, including two student members, two resident/fellow members and one early career physician; remainder of at-large positions comprised of general membership and governance, determined by management based on their advisory needs.  

Terms

One-year, renewable up to three times for total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the CEO.

2021-22 Members

Molly B. Southworth, MD, MPH, MACP, Chair (Regent)
Clinical Professor of Medicine
University of Washington School of Medicine
Affiliate Professor of Medical Education
University of Alaska Anchorage/WWAMI
Anchorage, AK
Specialties: Endocrinology
mollysouthworth@gmail.com

Kamna Bansal, MD
Assistant Professor
Family and Community Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
Primary Care Physician
Vallbona Health Center, Harris Health
Sugar Land, TX
kbansal@bcm.edu

Marvin J. Bittner, MD, FACP
Professor of Medicine
VA Nebraska-Western Iowa Health Care System
Omaha NE
Specialties: Infectious Disease, Internal Medicine
marvin.bittner@gmail.com

Thomas A. Bledsoe, MD, MACP
Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine
Warren Alpert School of Medicine of Brown University
Riverside, RI
Specialty: Internal Medicine
thomas_bledsoe@brown.edu

Raminder S. Gill, MD, FACP
Sacramento, CA
Specialty: Hospital Medicine
rsgill@ucdavis.edu

Mindy M. Kim
Medical Student
Wayne State University School of Medicine
Detroit, MI
mindy.kim@wayne.edu

Daniel I. Kim, MD, MBA, FACP (Governor)
Chair of Medicine, Director of Graduate Medical Education/Designated Institutional Officer, Riverside University Health System; Clinical Professor of Medicine
University of California, Riverside
Moreno Valley, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
d.kim@ruhealth.org

A. Muruganathan, MD, MACP, FRCP, FPCP, FICP
Chairman
A.G Hospital
Tirupur, India
a.muruganathan@gmail.com

Simranjit Singh, MD, FACP
Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine
Indianapolis, IN
Specialties: Hospital Medicine, Internal Medicine
dr.simsingh@outlook.com

Banu E. Symington, MD, MACP
Medical Director
Sweetwater Regional Cancer Center
Rock Springs, WY
Specialty: Hematology/Oncology
besacpidgov@gmail.com

Rubin K. Thomas, MD
Sunnyvale, TX
Specialty:  Hospital Medicine, Internal Medicine
Rubin.thomas@utsouthwestern.edu

Grant A. Turner, MD
Omaha, NE
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Critical Care
grant.a.turner@gmail.com

Catherine R. Womack, MD, FACP (Governor)
Associate Professor of Medicine and Associate Dean of Student Affairs and Admissions
UT Health Science Center
Memphis, TN
Specialty: Internal Medicine
cwomack@uthsc.edu

Ashley Whitworth Fellers (CSM)
Medical Student
University of South Carolina Columbia
Lexington, SC
ashley.fellers@uscmed.sc.edu

Michelle Ann Tan (CSM)
Medical Student
Emory University
Talbott, TN
michelle.ann.mercado.tan@emory.edu

Carlie Cerne, DO (CRFM)
Teaching Fellow, Department of Medicine
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences (US Army)
Silver Spring, MD
Specialties: Infectious Disease, Internal Medicine
ccerne11@elmira.edu

Christine Santiago, MD, MPH (CRFM)
Internal Medicine Resident
Stanford University
San Jose, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine
cks77555@gmail.com

Avital Y. O'Glasser, MD, FACP, FHM (CECP)
Associate Professor of Medicine      
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, OR
Specialty: Hospital Medicine
avitaloglasser@gmail.com

Staff Liaison: Rebecca Moore rmoore@acponline.org