You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Member Insurance Committee

Reports to:

Member of Senior Staff designated by the EVP/CEO


To advise management in oversight of insurance programs available to members of the American College of Physicians.

Note: Members of the Member Insurance Committee are Trustees for the Insurance Trusts.

Composition (9)

Chair, who is a member of staff designated by the EVP/CEO, or his/her designee; six at-large members; ACP’s Chief Financial Officer; ACP Treasurer who serves as an ex‐officio, non‐voting, non‐Trustee member.


One-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the CEO.

2020-21 Members

Robert A. Gluckman, MD, MACP, Chair
Beaverton, OR
Specialty: HEM

Alice L. Fuisz, MD, MACP
Washington, DC
Specialty: IM

Stuart I. Henochowicz, MD, FACP
(Governor) Virginia
Associate Clinical Professor at the Division of Allergy, Immunology and Rheumatology
Georgetown University Medical School
Burke, VA
Specialty: IM

Mark A. Levine, MD, MACP
Professor of Medicine
Assoc. Dean for Graduate Medical Education and
Designated Institutional Official
UVM Medical Center
Vice Chair for Education
Dept. of Medicine
UVM College of Medicine
Burlington, VT
Specialty: IM, Hospital Medicine

Richard J. Simons, MD, MACP
Senior Associate Dean for MD Programs
Professor of Medicine
The George Washington University
School of Medicine and Health Sciences
Washington, DC
Specialty: IM, GER

Banu E. Symington, MD, MACP
Chief of Staff
SLHS Magic Valley
Twin Falls, ID
Specialties: HEM/ONC

Gregory C. Kane, MD, MACP (Treasurer)
(Ex-Officio Member)
The Jane and Leonard Korman Professor of Pulmonary Medicine
Chairman Dept of Medicine
The Sidney Kimmel Medical College
Thomas Jefferson University
Philadelphia, PA
Specialty: IM

Staff Liaisons: Rebecca Moore
Michael Weis, MBA