You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Internal Medicine Scientific Program Committee

Reports to:

Senior Vice-President, Medical Education


Advise staff in the creation of the scientific program for ACP’s annual scientific meeting that will enable internists and subspecialists to maintain and advance their knowledge and skills for the benefit of their patients.

Composition (16)

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; 15 members who, along with the chair, represent the following areas:

  • Cardiology
  • Endocrinology
  • Gastroenterology
  • Geriatrics
  • Hematology/Oncology
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Internal Medicine-Pediatrics
  • Nephrology
  • Pulmonary/Critical Care
  • Rheumatology
  • Five General Internists (two representing hospital and three representing ambulatory medicine)

At least two positions must be filled by an Early Career Physician.


Chair, Vice Chair, and members serve one-year terms renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless extended by the Chair, Board of Regents.

2021-23 Members

Alan W. Dow, MD, FACP, Chair
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA
Specialty: Internal Medicine                                                                                  

Jayne A. Barr, MD, FACP
North Ridgeville, OH
Specialties: Hospital Medicine, Pediatrics

Matthew B. Carroll, MD, FACP, FACR
Singing River Health System
Ocean Springs, MS
Specialties: Rheumatology, Internal Medicine

Kerry A. Esquitin, MD, FACP
Assistant Professor of Medicine at CUIMC
Columbia University Irving Medical Center
New York, NY
Specialty: Cardiovascular Disease

Samuel Evans, MD, FACP, FCCP
Assistant Professor of Medicine       
University of Hawaii/JABSM, Hawaii Pacific Health-Straub
Honolulu, Hawai'i
Specialties: Pulmonary Disease, Critical Care Medicine

Joshua D. Hartzell, MD, MS-HPEd, FACP, FIDSA
Program Director, Internal Medicine
National Capital Consortium
Potomac, MD
Specialties: Infectious Disease, Hospital Medicine

Catherine Bree Johnston, MD, FACP
Bellingham, WA
Specialty: Geriatric Medicine, Hospice & Palliative Medicine

Alice D. Ma, MD, FACP
Professor of Medicine
UNC School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, NC
Specialties: Hematology, Internal Medicine

Srikrishna V. Malayala, MD, MPH, FHM, FACP
Chief Clinical Officer
IHP Hospitalists
Philadelphia, PA
Specialties: Hospital Medicine, Internal Medicine

Melissa A. McNeil, MD, MACP
Pittsburgh, PA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Naseema B. Merchant, MBBS, FACP
Middlefield, CT
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Elizabeth Selden, MD
Washington, DC
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Adrian P. Sequeira, MD, FACP
Professor of Clinical Medicine
Shreveport, LA
Specialties: Nephrology, Internal Medicine

Manish Singla, MD
Ocean City, MD
Specialties: Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

Guillermo E. Umpierrez, MD, MACP
Professor of Medicine
Atlanta, GA
Specialties: Endocrinology, Diabetes, Metabolism, Internal Medicine                                              

Erik A. Wallace, MD, FACP
Associate Professor of Medicine
Associate Dean for Colorado Springs Branch
University of Colorado
Colorado Springs, CO
Specialty: Internal Medicine

2020-22 Members

Ann R. Garment, MD, FACP, Chair
Clinical Associate Professor
Brooklyn, NY
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Joshua W. Allen-Dicker, MD, MPH
Associate Attending
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
New York, NY
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Victoria Elizabeth Burke, MD
Metairie, LA
Specialty: Infectious Diseases

Christian T. Cable, MD, FACP
Temple, TX
Specialty: Hematology, Medical Oncology

Hyung J. Cho, MD, FACP
New York, NY
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Ricardo Correa, MD, FACP
Endocrinology Fellowship Program Director and Director for diversity on GME
University of Arizona College of Medicine-Phoenix
Phoenix , AZ
Specialties: Internal Medicine, Endocrinology, Diabetes, Metabolism

Catherine E. Dubeau, MD
Lebanon, NH
Specialty: Geriatrics

Gregory C. Gardner, MD, MACP
Seattle, WA
Specialty: Rheumatology

Jason M. Goldman, MD, FACP (Regent)
Affiliate Assistant Professor of Clinical Biomedical Science
Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine
Coral Springs, FL
Specialty: Internal Medicine, Other

Lucinda A. Harris, MD, FACP
Scottsdale, AZ
Specialty: Gastroenterology

N. Kevin Krane, MD, FACP
New Orleans, LA
Specialty: NEP

Paul J. Mather, MD, FACP
Professor of Clinical Medicine
Physician Leader, Heart Failure Disease Management
Director, Faculty Development, Division of Cardiology
University of Pennsylvania Health System
Philadelphia, PA
Specialties: Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine                            

Chrisandra L. Shufelt, MD, FACP
Los Angeles, CA
Specialty: Women's Health

Todd L Simon, MD, MSEd, FACP
Chief Academic Officer
D.I.O., Vice Chair and Program Director, Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
New York-Presbyterian Brooklyn Methodist Hospital
Brooklyn. NY
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Janice L. Zimmerman, MD, MACP
Houston, TX
Specialty: PUL/Critical Care

Staff Liaison: David Disbrow