You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Education Content Validation Committee

Reports to:

Senior Vice President, Medical Education


Review educational activities designed and proposed by chapters, joint providership partners, and internal College departments, to determine eligibility for the designation of CME credit by the ACP.

Responsibilities include:

  1. Determining each activity is in keeping with the College’s mission To enhance the quality and effectiveness of health care by fostering excellence and professionalism in the practice of medicine.
  2. Determining that each proposed activity meets the American Medical Association (AMA) definition of continuing medical education.
  3. Determining each activity was planned and will be implemented in compliance with the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) Criteria and Standards of Commercial Support.
  4. Recommending adjustments needed to make an activity eligible for CME credit.

Composition (16)

Chair, who is an ACP member physician; fifteen members.


One-year, renewable up to three times for a total of four years, unless additional time is approved by the CEO.

2021-22 Members

William E. Davis, MD, MACP, Chair
Associate Professor, Vice-chair of Medicine for Education
Ochsner Clinic Foundation
New Orleans, LA
Specialty: Rheumatology

Alpesh N. Amin, MD, MBA, MACP
Chair, Medicine; Executive Director, Hospital Medicine
University of California, Irvine
Anaheim, CA
Specialties: Hospital Medicine, Internal Medicine

Eileen D. Barrett, MD, MPH, SFHM, MACP
Associate Professor of Medicine, University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Marvin J. Bittner, MD, FACP
Professor of Medicine
VA Nebraska-Western Iowa Health Care System
Omaha NE
Specialties: Infectious Disease, Internal Medicine

Jessica Favreau, MD, FACP
Internal Medicine Physician
Half Moon Bay, CA
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Kelly P. Ferraro, MD, FACP
Assistant Professor
University of Colorado, Denver
Denver, CO
Specialties: Hospice & Palliative Medicine, Hospital Medicine

Tatyana Gavrilova, MD
New York, NY
Specialty: Allergy and Immunology

Marc J. Kahn, MD, MBA, MACP, FRCP
Dean School of Medicine and Vice President for Health Affairs
School of Medicine at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV)
Las Vegas, NV
Specialties: Hematology, Internal Medicine

Nayan Kothari, MD, MACP, FRCP (Governor)
Chair & Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program
Chief Academic Officer
Saint Peter’s University Hospital
Clinical Professor of Medicine
Associate Dean for Academic Affiliate
Rutgers- Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
New Brunswick, NJ
Specialty: Rheumatology

Anuj Maheshwari, MD, FACP (Governor)
Professor & Head, General Medicine
Babu Banarasi Das University
Vikas Nagar, Lucknow
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Gregory W. Rouan, MD, MACP
Cincinnati, OH
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Dalia Saha, MD
ARAV Enterprises, PLLC
Washington, DC
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Adrian P. Sequeira, MD, FACP
Professor of Clinical Medicine
Shreveport, LA
Specialties: Nephrology, Internal Medicine

Tushar Shah, MBBS, MD, FACP
Acworth, GA
Specialty: Hospital Medicine

Shmuel Shoham, MD, FACP (Governor)
Associate Professor of Medicine
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
Specialty: Infectious Diseases

Ky B. Stoltzfus, MD, FACP (Governor)
Assistant Professor
University of Kansas Medical Center
Kansas City, KS
Specialty: Internal Medicine

Staff Liaison: Elizabeth Nettleton