You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Member Accomplishment Archives

Congratulations to our 2007 chapter awardees. The awards were presented at the Navy Chapter Scientific Meeting on October 6, 2007.

  • LT Eric D. Rasmussen, MC, USN, FACP, Sparks Award
  • CAPT Christopher Culp, MD, USN, FACP, Laureate Award
  • LCDR Tri H. Lac, MC, USN, FACP, Volunteerism & Community Service Award
  • LCDR William Shimeall, MD, MPH, FACP, Master Teacher Award
  • CDR A F Shwayhat, DO, MPH, FACP, Master Teacher Award
  • LCDR Joe Sposato, MD, Master Teacher Award
  • LT David K Byers, MC, USN, Resident of the Year Award
  • LT James D Prahl, MC, USN, Resident of the Year Award
  • LCDR Gilbert Seda, MC, USN, Resident of the Year Award

Winners of Chapter Awards given at the Navy Chapter Scientific Meeting, Oct. 12-14, 2006, Rockville, MD

Resident Teachers of the Year
Amer Skopic, LT, MC , USN (NMCP)
Mark D. Johnson, LT, MC, USN (NNMC)
Heather Miller, LT, MC, USN (NMCSD)

Staff Teachers of the Year
G. Dodd Denton, CDR, MC USN (NNMC)
Fletcher Pierce, LCDR, MC, USN (NMCP)
Walter Coyle, CAPT, MC, USN (NMCSD)

Oral Research Winners
1st Place: LT Suneil Ramchandani (NNMC)
2nd Place: LT Kathleen Love (NNMC)
3rd Place: LCDR Christopher Duplessis (NMCP)

Oral Clinical Vignette Winners
1st Place: LT David You (NNMC)
2nd Place: LT Virginia Skiba (NHTP)
3rd Place: LT Noreen Murphy (NNMC)

Poster Research Winners
1st Place: LCDR Martin Schoen (NMCSD)
2nd Place: LCDR Christopher Duplessis (NMCP)
3rd Place: LT James Prahl (NMCSD)

Poster Clinical Vignette Winners
1st Place: LT Gregory Fuhrer (NNMC)
2nd Place: LT Robert Holmes (NMCP)
2nd Place: LT Robert Summerlee (NNMC)
3rd Place: LT Tinika Montgomery (NNMC)

Jeopardy Team Winners: NNMC
LT Dave You
LT Suneil Ramchandani
LT Greg Fuhrer

Congratulations to our New Master
(elected April 2006)
Stephen C. Beuttel, Winston Salem, NC

From the Navy Chapter Meeting 2005

  • Clinical Poster Winners

    Christina Malekiani, M.D (NNMC): Mycophenolate Mofetil, A Novel Treatment of Transverse Myelitis
    LT Steven Armbruster (NNMC): That'S Not Cellulitis...That’s Relapsing Polychondritis!>
    M Alaric Franzos (NNMC): Sudden Cardiac Death in a Svt Induced Cardiomyopathy 2 Years After Ablation Despite Improved Cardiac Function

  • Research Poster Winners

    Suneil Ramchandani MD MPH (NNMC): HIV Patient Evaluation: A Survey of Knowledge, Attitudes, and Practices of Antiretroviral Therapy in India
    Matthew Needleman, MD (NNMC): An Evaluation of the Incidence of In-stent Restenosis in Patients With a History of Prior In-stent Restenosis
    LT Dylan Wessman (NMCSD): A Comprehensive Assessment of Heart Failure Management in the Internal Medicine Clinic

  • Oral Clinical Vignette Winners

    LT P. Webb, M.D (NMCSD): Severe Adverse Reaction to Mesalamine Acute Interstial Nephritis and Panserositis
    Bonita Banerjee, D.O (NNMC): Psychosis Following Mycoplasma Pneumoniae Infection
    Jennifer McCall M.D (NMCSD): A Case Series of Mediastinal Cysts

  • Oral Clinical Research Winners

    Heather J. Miller, MD (NMCSD): The Effect of Mdrd Gfr Reporting on Nephrology Referral Patterns by Internists
    Danielle Raimond, MD (NMCP): Nonadherence in Gastric Bypass Patients Taking Ursodiol: A Glimpse Into Overall Lifestyle Choices
    Suneil R Ramchandani MD MPH (NNMC): A Prospective, Multicenter Trial to Determine the Yield of Routine Testing in Suspected Diarrheapredominant and Alternating Ibs Patients

  • Student Posters - We had six superb posters from our medical students:

    ENS Robert Eberly , MS-III, USUHS
    2nd Lt Jay Nasir , MS-III,USUHS
    Tracy Franzos, MS-II, USUHS
    Caroline Messmer, MS-IV
    Suzanne R Gudeman, BS Univ of Wisconsin Medical School
    Gregory Dadekian, MSIV Brown Medical School

  • Doctor’s Dilemma

  • The Jeopardy Competition was a heated contest again but the bragging rights were won this year by the team from NNMC. The three person team consisted of LT David You, LT Sunny Ramchandani, and LCDR Robert Walter.

Congratulations to Christine Hunter, MD, FACP of the US Navy Chapter! Captain Hunter was just selected for advancement to Rear Admiral. This is a great honor and responsibility; it is well deserved.

Congratulations to Captain William Schindler, MD, FACP and to Captain James Butler, MD, FACP who were primary investigators in a lead article in the New England Journal of Medicine entitled "CT Virtual colonoscopy to screen for colorectal neoplasia in asymptomatic adults."

N Engl J Med; 349(23);2191-200. This is a landmark article and may change the face of CRC screening. Both Captains have been active in the ACP, and Dr. Butler recently retired and is practicing in the Washington, DC area.

Congratulations to Captain Mark H Johnston, MD, FACP, Naval Medical Center Bethesda, recipient of the 2003 Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award.

The Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Awards were established to reward a physician-scientist, clinician, or scientific group whose recent innovative work is making a notable contribution to improve clinical care in the field of internal medicine; to that individual or organization whose recent original approach in the delivery of health care or in the design of facilities for its delivery will increase its clinical and/or economic effectiveness.

The Navy Chapter is the proud recipient of the Chapter Excellence Award and of the Evergreen Award for 2004.

The Chapter Excellence Award recognizes chapters, which successfully meet the standards for managing a chapter. Chapters do not need to apply for the Chapter Excellence Award. The Chapters Subcommittee identifies recipients based on information obtained primarily from the Chapter Annual Report. In order to achieve the Chapter Excellence Award, chapters must meet all five basic criteria and six optional criteria.

Outstanding Internist at a Non-Teaching Internal Medicine Hospital
1995 Jean Charles Montgomery, MD

Governor's Award for Clinical and Academic Excellence
1995 M. Zudhi Jasser, MD, FACP
1995 Amir E. Harari, MD
1995 Carla R. Lamb, MD
1995 John W. Sanders, MD