You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Tennessee Governor's Newsletter October 2019

Tennessee Chapter Banner

Tracey E. Doering, MD, FACP, ACP Governor

Tracey E. Doering, MD, FACP, ACP Governor


Governor's Message

Dear Colleagues,

We just finished our chapter meeting and it was a great success. Enjoy some of the highlights in this newsletter. Hope you will consider coming to next year's meeting, which will be held at the Franklin Marriott on October 23-24, 2020.

ACP has been very busy working on behalf of the physicians. I attended the Board of Governor's meeting and will share some highlights from that also.

Membership in ACP is up in our state and nationally! Please invite colleagues to join!



Tennessee Chapter Meeting, October 11-12, 2019

The meeting was excellent and well received by all attended. There were spectacular talks on many topics. There were fabulous updates.

Here are some pictures.


Dr. Parul Goyal (program chair) and our executive director, Renee Arnott


Dr. Nancy Brown, chair of the Dept of Medicine at Vanderbilt, updating us on ARB/ACEI.


Dr. George Crossley, with an update on atrial fibrillation




We want to recognize our members locally across the state, so please submit nominations for the awards! We presented these at our state meetings. Thanks to Dr. Ken Olive for heading the awards committee. Here are winners from this year.

Laureate award: Dr. Kevin Smith


This award is designed to honor those Fellows and Master of the College wo have demonstrated by their example and conduct, an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, and research and service to their community, their chapter and the ACP.

Volunteerism and Community Service Award: Dr. Alva Weir


For distinguished voluntary humanitarian effort and dedication to patients and the art of medicine.

Woman Physician of the Year: Dr. Howiada Salim (not able to be present)

For an outstanding woman physician with a distinguished career in areas of exceptional patient care, medical education and/or research.

Resident of the Year: Dr. Jamie Jones


For demonstrating professionalism and leadership in her residency program, the medical profession and the community.

Distinguished Teacher/Mentor Award: Dr. Rebecca Copeland


For outstanding mentorship of students and residents, as demonstrated by a sustained commitment to providing personal and professional guidance to physicians in training.



Residents Program

Residents and students presented posters and orals of outstanding quality. Thanks to Dr. Steve Hegedus for organizing this portion of the program, including running the doctor's dilemma.


Resident/Fellow Research Winner

Dr. Dhruvil Radadiya, ETSU: Predictors and Trend of 30-day Readmissions in patients with Decompensated Cirrhosis from year 2010 to 2016


Resident/Fellow Clinical Vignette winners

Dr. Anastasia Brit, UT Chattanooga

A Case of Dry Tears and Progressive Generalized Weakness


Dr. Rose Izuchi, Meharry

Severe Diabetic Ketoacidosis Presenting with an Unusual Complication of Reversible Blindness

Medical Student Winner

Pious Patel VUMC

QT Prolonging Effect of Sertraline, Citalopram, and Escitalopram is Driven by Baseline QTc and CYP2C19 Genotype

Oral presentations

Jiun-Ruey Hu, MD Vanderbilt

Do Statins Affect Mortality, Cardiovascular Events, and Inflammation in Dialysis Patients? A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis

Yala Kirthi Reddy, UTHSC

Diagnostic Accuracy of FIB-4, APRI, and NAFLD Fibrosis Score in Caucasian Patients with Biopsy-Proven Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver

Matthew Spence, Medical Student, UTHSC Chattanooga

Undetectable Cholesterol, How Low Can You Go?


Doctor's Dilemma® Winner

ETSU Team: Dr, Utsab Panta, Dr,. Kirtha Reddy, Dr. Sathvika Gaddam, Dr. Ali Bokhari, Dr. Dhruvil Radadiya, Dr. Steven Hegedus, Dr. Daphne Norwood and Dr. Catherine Womack.

Steve was the MC, and Daphne and Catherine did the scoring!!




Medical Student Involvement

I drove to LMU and met with their Internal Medicine Interest Group. They were extremely enthusiastic and we had our first student poster presentation from their school at the fall meeting.


Pooya Zardoost and Shirley Payson



Advocacy Issues

Nurse Practitioner Independent Practice

I am part of a coalition regarding the issue of NP having independent practice. There are many society leaders involved and we have meet with TNA and our working hard on a resolution to avoid a legislative battle over this issue.

Block Grant Proposal

We have submitted the TN ACP opinion on the public site and to Governor Lee regarding the block grant proposal and do not see this as beneficial for our patients or expanding access. Email me if you would like details on this.

Maintenance of Certification

The Future of MOC (Continuing Certification)

  • ACP is pleased that ABIM is taking initial steps to develop a continuing certification option that will support lifelong learning by emphasizing education, feedback and the convenience of being self-paced.
  • ABIM's plans to develop a longitudinal assessment as an option in addition to their point-in-time examinations align with recommendations put forth by the American Board of Medical Specialties' Continuing Board Certification: Vision for the Future Commission and with ACP's comments submitted to the Commission.
  • ACP is committed to ongoing professional development and lifelong learning and to representing our members' needs for continuing certification programs consistent with our professional accountability principles.
  • We look forward to supporting ABIM in developing options that emphasize learning, offer flexibility and choice, and that meet the needs of internal medicine specialists and subspecialists as well as the patients they serve. For more detailed information, visit

Medicare Fee Schedule

Proposed changes in Medicare payments to physicians would recognize the value of cognitive services in providing quality patient care.

Improvements include:

  • Increased payments for evaluation and management (E/M) services
  • Retained separate payment levels for E/M codes
  • Improved documentation for E/M services
  • Improved accuracy in tracking time spent
  • Payment for managing opioid use disorder
  • Additional add-on codes



National ACP Meeting

Internal Medicine Meeting 2020: Mastering Medicine Together

April 23-25, 2020 (Pre-Courses April 21-22, 2020)

Los Angeles Convention Center Los Angeles, CA



Follow TN ACP on social media: We now have twitter, Instagram and facebook!!

Web page:



Twitter: @tnchapteracp

Follow us on our social media and email with any concerns or questions.

It is hard to believe that is already time to elect our new Governor, who will serve as Governor-elect from April 2020-April 2021, and then as Governor April 2021 until April 2025. We have two outstanding candidates, Dr. Catherine Womack and Dr. Dan Ely. Those eligible to vote received a separate email for voting. Please vote!

Thanks and have blessed holidays!

Warmest regards,


Cell 615-347-9643