You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Member News

2019-20 National Award Winners Honored at 2021 Internal Medicine Meeting

(May 2021) Congratulations to Dr. Nettleman and to the family of Dr. Holm (he was recognized posthumously).

Elizabeth and Emily Blackwell Award for Outstanding Contributions to Advancing the Careers of Women in Medicine

Mary D. Nettleman, MD, MACP
Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service

Richard P. Holm, MD, MACP
Brookings, South Dakota

South Dakota IM Residents achieve strong success in fellowship match & ABIM Board pass rate

(February 2021) Our PGY3 residents had another outstanding fellowship match this year. We have 4 residents going into fellowships. These fellowships include Cardiology at Houston Methodist, Hematology/Oncology at University of Nebraska, Pulmonary-Critical care at Mayo Clinic in Scottsdale, AZ, and Nephrology-Critical care at University of Texas San Antonio. We are also excited that our other 4 residents will be staying to practice in South Dakota. One resident will practice in Primary Care and three residents will practice as Hospitalists. We also had another outstanding year with our ABIM boards. We had a 100% pass rate again, which makes this the 5th consecutive year. The residents continue to do very well on the In-training service exam with our residency (all residents combined) composite percentile of greater than 90% in all specialties and overall program. Thanks to all our outstanding faculty.