Member News

Dr. Blase A. Carabello selected for ACP National Award

(May 2021) Dr. Carabello was officially recognized with the Harriet P. Dustan Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine during the 2021 Internal Medicine Meeting. Dr. Carabello is an internationally recognized expert in the field of valvular heart disease and currently serves as Chief and Professor of Cardiology, Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University. He specializes in the care of patients who have complex valvular heart disease, and in the practice of general internal medicine.

SC Resident wins in Resident/Fellow Research ePoster category during 2021 National Abstract Competition

(May 2021) Kunjan Udani, MD, Chief Resident at East Carolina University/Vidant Medical Center, won for her Research ePoster "A Retrospective Study of Admission NT-proBNP Levels as a Predictor of Readmission Rate, Length of Stay, and Mortality HCA."

SC Chapter 2020 Awardees

(October 2020) Congratulations to our Chapter awardees!

  • Laureate Award: Anne G. Cook, MD, FACP
  • Early Career Physician Award: Keith R. Barron, MD, FACP
  • James McFarland Award: Mark A. Fox, MD, FACP

If you have any current news to share about yourself or a colleague that we can celebrate, please email it to  Mary Beth Poston, MD, FACP, and specify that it is for the Member News section of the Chapter Web site.