You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Member News

David L. Bronson, MD, MACP receives National Award

(May 2021) David L. Bronson, MD, MACP, has been named the recipient of the 2020-2021 Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians. This award is bestowed for outstanding service to the American College of Physicians. The recipient is a newly elected or previously elected Master of the ACP, preferably one who has served as an Officer, Regent, or Governor and who has completed official service. The selection is based upon loyalty and exceptional contributions to the aims and purposes of the College. This could include the development of a new program consistent with the Mission, Goals, and Core Values of ACP; representation of the College to other national organizations; leadership in promoting basic administrative changes to the College; or advancing membership priorities. Dr. David Bronson is Professor (Emeritus) of Medicine at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine of Case Western Reserve University. He served as Governor, Chair of the Board of Governors, member of the Board of Regents, and as ACP President from 2012 to 2013.

G. Patrick Ecklar, MD, MACP selected for advancement to Mastership

(May 2021) Congratulations to G. Patrick Ecklar, MD, MACP​ of Columbus who has received Mastership in the American College of Physicians. Dr. Ecklar was officially recognized with ACP Mastership during the 2021 Internal Medicine Meeting. Masterships are awarded because of “personal character, positions of honor, contributions towards furthering the purposes of the ACP, eminence in practice or in medical research, or other attainments in science or in the art of medicine. Dr. Ecklar is Clinical Associate Professor, Associate Director, LSI Longitudinal Group/LSI Longitudinal Preceptor Group, and Associate Director, Advanced Management of Relationship Centered Care at The Ohio State University College of Medicine. His commitment to Mount Carmel Health System and The Ohio State University and its training programs has been unwavering.

Medical Students and Residents win awards at 2021 National Abstract Competition

(May 2021) We are proud to recognize the following members whose work was recognized for excellence:

  • Nihaal Reddy - "Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) induced Guillain-Barre Syndrome (GBS) and Recovery via Standard Treatment" (Medical Student Virtual Presentation winner)
  • Pritika Manaktala, MD - "To treat or not to treat, that is the question: A case of simultaneous hemorrhagic conversion of stroke, STEMI and LV thrombus" (Resident/Fellow Virtual Presentation winner)
  • Karam Atli - "The Impact of Surgical Chronology on Outcomes of Patients Receiving Lumbar Spine and Lower Extremity Joint Surgeries" (Medical Student ePoster winner)

We Salute the recipients of the Ohio Chapter 2020 CoVID-19 Hospital Hero Award!

(2020) Congratulations to the following members:
Steven Burdette, MD - Wright State University
LeAnn Coberly, MD, FACP - University of Cincinnati Medical Center
Eric Warm, MD, FACP - University of Cincinnati Medical Center
Joel Kammeyer, MD, FACP - University of Toledo Medical Center
Jennifer Hanrahan, DO - University of Toledo Medical Center
Mark Herbert, MD, FACP - Mt. Carmel Health System
Keith Armitage, MD, MACP - Case Western Reserve University
Steven Ricanati, MD, FACP - MetroHealth
Elise Kwizera, MD - The Cleveland Clinic
Keaton Bullen, DO, FACP - SUMMA Health Medical Group
Julius Feitl, MD - SUMMA Health Medical Group

If you have any current news to share about yourself or a colleague that we can celebrate, please send it along to the Governor, Craig Nielsen, MD, FACP