You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Montana Governor's Newsletter October 2017

Montana Chapter Banner

Pam Hiebert, MD, FACP, ACP Governor

Pam Hiebert, MD, FACP, ACP Governor

September was a busy month with two great conferences.

Health Care Innovations and Physician Wellness was September 22-24 at Big Sky. This was cosponsored by the Montana Medical Association (MMA) and MT ACP. There were excellent discussions on new innovations and practical advice for new models of care. We discussed measuring and improving physician wellbeing at the local and national level. There were also discussions on personal wellness and networking opportunities.

The Montana Chapter Scientific Meeting was September 28-30 in Missoula. Charlotte Nelson, MD, FACP and Claude Tonnerre, MD, FACP planned a fantastic meeting. The meeting included topics on diabetes, palliative care, chronic pain management, and new cardiovascular technology. We were fortunate to have our MT IM residents participate with the poster competition and clinical vignettes. Draught Works Brewery hosted great beer tasting. Peggy Schlesinger hosted an entertaining game show. Awards were presented at the University of Montana Stadium Club.


Affordable Health Care

ACP continues to advocate for affordable health care for all. This article has state-by-state resources offered for ACA enrollment. This is a valuable resource to provide to your patients. We appreciate any feedback on ACP Advocate.



Your Input is Needed! Patients Before Paperwork – Administrative Tasks and Best Practices Survey

ACP's Patients Before Paperwork Initiative began in 2015 with the goals of:

  • Identifying and prioritizing which complexities are of the top concern for ACP members and their patients.
  • Educating ACP members, other physicians, consumer advocates, and policy makers on what makes up administrative complexities, including the intent of the requirement and how the complexity impacts patients and physicians.
  • Implementing the most effective advocacy, stakeholder engagement, and practice support approaches to help mitigate or eliminate the top priority complexities and to help ACP members (and other physicians) address those complexities that cannot be eliminated.
  • Achieving results that reduce physician burn-out, help restore the joy of practice, and reinvigorate the patient-physician relationship.

Earlier in 2017, ACP published a new Position Paper: Putting Patients First by Reducing Administrative Tasks in Health Care, which outlines a cohesive framework for identifying/evaluating administrative tasks as well as detailed policy recommendations to reduce excessive administrative tasks across the health care system. Following this paper, the College is implementing a multi-pronged action plan to operationalize the framework and recommendations outlined in the policy paper. And you can help!

We are asking you to provide direct input into this work via a new online data collection tool. This tool, will allow you to enter either an administrative task or a best practice, and entries will be added to the Administrative Tasks and Best Practices Library. This library will eventually become accessible on ACPOnline, once the data are more robust. It can then serve as a resource for physicians to communicate administrative pain points with ACP staff and share and review best practices to address these issues. It will also serve as a tool for staff to advocate and provide specific examples to the external sources of these tasks, as well as to better serve our members via additional tools and services.

Complete the Administrative Tasks and Best Practices Survey



The Chapter Scientific Meeting

Thanks to Charlotte Nelson, MD, FACP and Claude Tonnerre, MD, FACP for organizing a fantastic Montana Scientific Meeting!


The Laureate Award honors Fellows or Masters of the ACP who have demonstrated by their example and conduct an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, or research, and in service to their community, their Chapter, and the American College of Physicians.

The recipients of this award bear the title Laureate of the Montana Chapter.

It is with distinct pleasure that the Montana Chapter presents the Laureate award to Charlotte Nelson, MD, FACP this year. Dr. Nelson is a long-standing and loyal supporter of the College, has rendered distinguished service to the chapter, and has upheld the high ideals and professional standards for which the College is known.

We salute and honor Dr. Nelson and wish her and her family well in the future.

Pam Hiebert, MD, FACP
Governor, Montana Chapter


Congratulations to the Following Montana Chapter Award Recipients:

Michael Vlases, MD, FACP – 2017 Distinguished Internist of the Year


Michael Spinelli MD, FACP – 2017 Medical Student Teacher of Year


Steve Gerstner, MD, FACP – 2017 Resident Teacher of the Year


Kylie Ebner, DO – 2017 Resident Recognition Award for Leadership

Tara Block – William A. Reynolds Medical Student of the Year Scholarship

William A. Reynolds, MD, MACP, Tara Block, Pam Hiebert, MD, FACP

Thanks to the following residents for submitting superb abstracts:


Guiset Carvajal Bedoya – Real world cure rates of Direct Acting Antivirals for Chronic Hepatitis C therapy in Billings Clinic

William Boothe, MD – SOX-10 Staining of Dermal Dendritic Cells

William Boothe, MD, Jonathan Bui, MD, and Kevin Mitchell, MD – Inpatient Alcohol Bases Hand Sanitizer Ingestion

Christopher Dietrich, MD – Persistent Hypokalemia of Unknown Etiology

Joanne Nazareth, MD – A Rare and Potentially Fatal Complication of Strep Throat-Lemierre's Syndrome

Lauren Thom, MBBS – An Unusual Presentation of Granulomatosis with Polyangiitis

Congratulations to the following Resident/Fellow abstract winners

Christopher Dietrich, MD – First Place


Guiset Carvajal Bedoya, MD – Second Place


William Boothe, MD – Third Place


Newly Elected Council Members

David Bybee, MD, MACP, Bozeman
Christopher Dietrich, MD, Billings
Katherine Dietrich, DO, FACP, Billings
Bishow Paudel, MD, Miles City



Congratulations to the New Fellows

Courtney Austin, MD FACP, Whitefish
Erica R Bruen, MD FACP, Billings
Tory Katz Kelly, MD FACP, Bozeman
Jason V Kunz, DO FACP, Billings
Horng-Chyi R Lai, MD FACP, Great Falls
Melissa Reily, MD FACP, Bozeman



Welcome New Members

John Becker MD, MD, Billings
Kimberly Blain, MD, Billings
William Boothe, MD, Billings
Millie Boyd, MD, Billings
Macgregor W Brownlow, MD, Bozeman
Jonathan Bui, MD, Billings
Alexander Bules, DO, Great Falls
James Butler, MD, Billings
Amy Consson, MD, Billings
Nate C Cook, MD, Anaconda
Lawrence Gerstle, MD, Missoula
Sierra Gross, MD, Billings
Kelly Grott, MD, Billings
Giorgos Hadjivassiliou, MD, Billings
Naomi Hasselblad, MD, Billings
Jamie Hettick, MD, Kalispell
James A Jackson, Billings
Michael T Kidd, MD, Billings
Kale Knudson, MD, Billings
Stephanie Lukas, MD, Billings
Kathleen Marshall, MD, Missoula
Kimberly Ng, MBBCh, Billings
Laurent T Palmatier, MBBS, Billings
Shannan Patterson, MD, Billings
Sarah Peila, MD, Billings
Jacob Perrin, MD, Billings
Erin S Rains, DO, Billings
Lance Robbins, DO, Miles City
Judy Rosales, Great Falls
Payton Skawinski, Great Falls
Noelle A Stromme, MD, Billings



2018 Chapter Meeting Survey

Please email Carrie Reisig by Friday, November 10th, indicating your preference in regards to which days you would like the 2018 Montana Chapter Scientific meeting held. Your feedback is essential in planning a meeting that meets your needs!

  1. Thursday noon through Saturday noon
  2. Full day Thursday and Friday
  3. Full day Friday and Saturday