You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

2019 Williams ACP Medical Student Conference Recap

The Chapter would like to share with you how much we appreciated all of our Faculty and CRAB members who participated in the Williams Student Conference which took place on Saturday, March 2. We had over 100 students registered for this event, 7 student teams and 24 poster presenters in research and clinical vignette divisions.  Please enjoy some photos of the event.

We would not be able to host this, however, without the support of our Faculty and CRAB members. Special kudos to the CRAB chairs and members: Valentina Baez, MD,  Kaveh Bookani, MD (MedStar Harbor), Atul Matta, MBBS (SAH), Sam Kant, MD and Jon Gray, MD (UMMC Midtown).

This year, the event that we envisioned as a CRAB sponsored program really occurred and we cannot thank CRAB enough for making it happen. We would like to share with you some of our winners' names. Congratulations to all!


1st Place - Zoe Cosner (Hopkins)
2nd Place - Hursuong Vongsachang (Hopkins)
3rd Place - Sundus Ahmed (Cornell)

Clinical Vignette

1st Place - Omar Choudhury (MedStar Harbor)
2nd Place - Eleanor Derouin (USUHS)
3rd Place - Kanksha Peddi (MedStar Harbor)

Iron Med Competition

1st - Eleanor Derouin (USUHS)
2nd - Vijay Arasu (SAH)
3rd - Jacob Blotter (USUHS)

Student Dilemma Contest

1st Place - Harbor Hospital
2nd Place - USUHS
3rd Place - Hopkins

This year we once again offered a special prize to two students who have participated in and attended student events throughout the year. These students were award $500 each to attend the 2019 Internal Medicine Meeting in Philadelphia:

Gary Soroosh (Hopkins)
Eva Szymanski (Hopkins)

Thanks again to the terrific support of our Faculty - Richard Williams, MD, FACP,  April Fitzgerald, MD, FACP, Phil Dittmar, MD, FACP, Ellen Marciniak, MD, Joe Maciuba, MD, and Vijay Rauput, MD. Of course, we can never forgot our wonderful Dilemma extraordinaire, Janaki Deepak, MBBS, FACP!

We could not accomplish all that we do without the wonderful support we receive from our programs. THANKS so much!

Mangla Gulati, MD, FACP
Governor, ACP Maryland ACP Chapter