You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Member News

Two members selected for advancement to Mastership

(May 2021) The following members were officially recognized with ACP Mastership during the 2021 Internal Medicine Meeting. Masterships are awarded because of “personal character, positions of honor, contributions towards furthering the purposes of the ACP, eminence in practice or in medical research, or other attainments in science or in the art of medicine.”

Shyam Kottilil, MBBS, PhD, MACP
Dr. Kottilil had a successful career working in the Fauci lab on HIV and viral hepatitis. He was one of the first to recognize the impact that viral hepatitis had on HIV patients. While continuing to manage a lab section, he became the clinical director of a new initiative to reduce the burden of HIV and its co-morbidities in Washington, D.C. at a time when the city had the highest incidence of HIV in the nation.

Bruce A. Leff, MD, MACP
Dr. Leff is currently Professor of Medicine at Johns Hopkins with joint appointments in both the Bloomberg School of Public Health and the School of Nursing. He is also Director for the Center for Transformative Geriatric Research at Hopkins. He is a past-President of the American Academy of Home Care Physicians and a past Chair of the Council of Subspecialty Societies.

5 members receive ACP National Awards

(May 2021) The following members were officially recognized during the 2021 Internal Medicine Meeting.

Joseph A. Kovacs, MD - 2019-2020 Harriet P. Dustan Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine
Jeremy A. Greene, MD - 2020-2021 Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award for Scholarly Activities in the Humanities and History of Medicine
Mary M. Newman, MD, MACP - 2020-2021 Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award of the American College of Physicians
Colleen Christmas, MD, FACP - 2019-2020 Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator
Anthony F. Suffredini, MD, FACP - 2020-2021 ACP Award for Outstanding Educator of Residents and Fellows

3 Members win awards in 2021 ACP National Abstract Competition

(May 2021) Congratulations to the following members, who were recognized for their outstanding ePosters:

Emily Baird (Medical student ePoster category)
"A Case Study Demonstrating Tolerance of the Gut to Large Volumes of Enteral Fluids in Burn Shock"

Roxana R Amirahmadi, MD (Resident/Fellow Clinical Vignette ePoster category)
"Cosmetic Powder Use and Pulmonary Talcosis: A Case Report"

Nicholas Burley, DO (Resident/Fellow Clinical Vignette ePoster category)
"Aortic thrombosis and acute limb ischemia secondary to COVID hypercoagulability"

If you have any current news to share about yourself or a colleague that we can celebrate, please e-mail it to Maryellen Woodward.