You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Kentucky Governor's Newsletter September 2016

Kentucky Chapter Banner

Phillip F. Bressoud, MD, FACP, ACP Governor

Phillip F. Bressoud, MD, FACP, ACP Governor


From the Governor's Desk…

MOC remains one of the ACP's most important priorities. The ABIM continues to press the ABIM for details regarding the proposed new 5-year cycle with home based computerized testing as an alternative to the do or die high stakes exam every ten years. We continue to press the ABIM for details of the revamped MOC process hoping to see a formal option for a low stakes method of re-certifying as an alternative to the high stakes exam. Although the pass has improved from several years ago, the 88% pass rate for general internal medicine in 2015 is below that of other specialties. I hope to update you  with more information after the ACP Board of Governors' Fall Meeting.

I hope to see you at our chapter scientific meeting October 5, 2016.



Kentucky's New TB Screening Regulations for Healthcare Workers

I also wanted to bring to your attention recent changes in the Kentucky Administrative Regulations regarding TB screening for healthcare workers. While many hospitals and healthcare systems have been working to implement the new regulations, small groups may not be aware of the new requirements. The regulations which took effect September 1 require that TB skin tests be placed and read by a RN (may also be a LPN supervised by a RN), nurse practitioner, physician or pharmacist. Additional changes include chest x-rays for new hires. For more information regarding the regulations please  visit the website.



Abstract and Poster Judges Needed for ACP Internal Medicine 2017

Please consider volunteering to review abstracts and/or judge posters submitted by medical students and residents/fellows for the 2017 National Abstract Competitions.

Abstract Review Board

If you volunteer to review abstracts, you will be directed to a URL on our website to view/print and grade your abstracts. You will be assigned up to approximately 10-20 abstracts and will have 4-5 weeks to review them. The reviewer process begins around mid-November through early December depending upon which category you volunteer to review.

Poster Judging at ACP Internal Medicine Meeting 2017

Volunteers are needed to judge the National Poster Finals at ACP Internal Medicine Meeting 2017. Last year, more than 3,300 abstracts were submitted for consideration. The approximately 600 posters that will be on display, along with the 30 oral presentations, represent the best of the best. We hope that you will have some time during the Internal Medicine Meeting to act as a poster judge and be part of this exciting program.

If you are interested in participating, please to go to ARB/Poster Judge RSVP form and login to register as a reviewer or judge.



ACP, AIUM, and Wake Forest University Hold Comprehensive Ultrasound Course Nov 12-13

The ACP is jointly sponsoring an Ultrasound Course for physicians how and where medical ultrasound can effectively be used in point-of-care and critical care settings.

Attendees will participate in hands-on sessions and lectures covering the basics in several areas of medical ultrasound with clinical applications in inpatient, critical care, and emergency settings. This course also includes advanced uses, including cardiopulmonary assessment, and screenings for abdominal pathology and deep venous thrombosis (DVT).

When: November 12-13, 2016

Where: Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, NC

To Register: Follow Registration link and use Priority Code ACP to receive a discounted registration for ACP members.



New! ACP Early Career E-Poster Competition

The ACP has announced an Early Career E-Poster Competition, taking place on Thursday, March 30, during ACP's Internal Medicine 2017 in San Diego. The ACP defines early career physicians as members who are <16 years since medical school graduation. The E-Poster competition will be online only with no onsite judging. There will be a limit of 100 submissions, with 50 selected to develop an online poster. In addition to the online poster with the authors able to include voice-over narration to the poster so that viewers may hear from them what makes the findings significant, original and relevant. The E-poster portal will open in Early October. For more information or questions prior to the portal going live please contact Tracey Henry or at (800) 523-1546, ext. 2727.



New Members

   Derick Adams, DO
   Elaine Alvarez, MD
   Siddharth A. Bale, MD, MBBS
   Soumit K. Basu, MD, PhD
   Patrick D. Baumann, MD
   Walid E. Baz, MD
   David Bercovici, MD
   Matthew Brooks, MD
   Ryan R. Brown, MD
   Robert M. Burkes, MD
   Muhammad Butt, MBBS
   Antonino Cavataio
   Jeffrey C. Chou, MD
   Steven C. Davis, MD
   Jennifer Dotson, DO
   David Foster III, MD
   Julian Glenn Gabbard, MD
   Padmaja Gaddam, MBBS
   Frederick S. Griffiths, MD
   Jill Gualdoni, MD
   Hassan Hasanein, MD
   Hamza Hashmi, MD
   Syed A. Hassan, MBBS
   Kenneth Heberling, MD
   Lindsay M. Hinkle-Johnston, DO
   D. Ryan Hogancamp, MD
   Nathan T. Hudson, MD
   Zeeshan Hussain, MBBS
   Bilal Athar Jalil, MD, MBBS
   Jeffrey T. Jenkins, MD
   Michael E. Jesinger, MD
   Anna Johnson, DO
   Kevin M. Kelly, Sr. MD
   Andrew M. Lally, MD
   Kimberly E. Leake, MD
   Robert J. Learch, DO
   Hugh H. Loeffler, MD
   Georges Lolay, MD
   Kayla Lundsten, MD
   Matthew D. Lykins, MD
   Hannah J. Mastbergen, MD
   Rachel R. Mather, MD
   Christopher Meenach, DO
   Joshua T. Minix, DO
   Crystal D. Narcisse, MD
   Jay B. Oberoi, MD
   Gbolahan O. Ogunbayo, MBCHB
   Wycliffe O. Opii, MD
   Danh C. Pham, MD
   Bailey W. Phelps, MD
   Matthew Pierzala, DO
   Branden Quinlan, DO
   Chitra Raghavan, MD
   Steven D. Ramos, MD
   Harigopal S. Reddy, MBBS
   Sarah K. Reid, MD
   Jens Rosenau, MD
   Benjamin C. Salgado, MD
   Mohsin Salih, MBBCH
   Christopher E. Schmitt, MD
   Aaron Schnell, MD
   Zaman Shah, MD
   Mohammad Fateh Shahzad, MBBS
   Tyler D. Sharpe, MD
   Jacquelene R. Steele, MD
   Swetha Suresh, MD
   Atif Tatari, DO
   Sarah P. Thayer, MD
   James Troy, MD
   Katie E. Twist
   Gregg L. Wendorf, MD
   Emily White, MD
   Mark N. Youssef, MD
   Joshua K. Yuen, MD



New Fellows

   Angela T. Dearinger, MD, FACP
   Asad D. Fraser, MD, FACP
   Aju Mathew, MD, PhM, FACP
   Ana Rowena A Overley, MD, FACP
   Mohammad Samih, MBBS, FACP
   Goutham Talari, MBBS, FACP
   Manuel S. Villareal, MD, FACP
   Angela K. Webb, MD, FACP



Contact Information

   Phillip F. Bressoud, MD, FACP Phone: 502-852-3172
   Fax: 502-852-6649

Executive Director:
   Megan Milburn Phone: 623-225-5527

Chapter Address:
   401 East Chestnut Street Suite #110
   Louisville, KY 40202