You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Member News

2020 Kansas Chapter Awardees

(October 2020) During the fall virtual meeting, the Kansas Chapter presented Ammar Al-Obaidi, MD and John Fritzlen, MD with the Delp Resident of the Year Award, David Morgan, MD, FACP with the Internist Award, Benjamin Quick, MD, MPH with the Early Career Physician of the Year Award, and Issac Opole, MBChB, PhD, FACP with the Chapter Laureate Award. Be sure to view the Town Hall/Awards ceremony if you would like to watch everyone receive their awards.

2020 Kansas Chapter Poster Competition Winners

(October 2020) Congratulations to our poster winners:

Best Resident Presentation: Christopher Williams, MD: Crystals Causing Confusion?: A Case of Crowned Dens Syndrome

Best Student Presentation: Conner Bowman, MS4: Should Antibiotics Be Started Within One Hour for Septic Patients?

Chien Liu Infectious Disease Award: Tie

Maire Okoniewski, DO: Scrofula of the Abdomen

Victoria Poplin, MD: The Effectiveness of a ‘Suppression Bundle’ to Improve HIV Virologic Suppression in an Outpatient Infectious Disease Clinic

Segen E. Smith Chase, MD, FACP becomes Kansas Chapter Wellness Champion

(2020) Dr. Chase completed the Wellness Champion training program through ACP and is leading efforts within our Chapter. This has included partnering with other chapters to host events as well as developing resources.