Meet the Council - Chapter Awards Chair

Steven Joyce, MD, FACP - Chair, Chapter Awards

The Awards Committee identifies those eligible for the College's national awards which include the Laureate Award (2 each year: one from a community practice and one from a University practice) and the Chapter Excellence Award.  The description of the awards and the awardees can be found here.

Dr. Joyce is an outstanding internist who is also trained in pediatrics.  He completed medical school at the University of Iowa and a combined internal medicine/pediatrics residency at the University of Rochester.   He has been a member of ACP since 1998 and became a fellow in 2006.  He has been a member of the Iowa Council since 2008 and serving as Awards Chair since 2009.  He practices at the Mercy Internal Medicine/Pediatric Clinic in Sioux City and has a professional interest in medical informatics.  He was the Chief Information Officer for Mercy Medical Center from 2008-2016 when he transitioned to become the Chief Primary Care Officer for Mercy where he oversees their network of primary care providers.

On a personal level, he is married to Kathryn and they have 4 children.  He and Kathryn enjoy traveling although they don’t do as much of this as they would like.  Dr. Joyce is an avid runner and enjoys college sports, especially Iowa Hawkeye sports.