You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are here

Congratulations to our Members

2016 ACP Young Achievers

View the full list of Young Achievers who will participate in Internal Medicine 2016 as National Abstract Competition Finalists.

National Award

Congratulations to IMANA Medical Relief who received the Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award from The Rosenthal Family Foundation. All national awards and Masterships will be presented during Convocation at Internal Medicine 2016.

Kudos to our New Masters!

Congratulations to Lawrence P. Jennings (Mount Carmel)and Daniel P. Sulmasy (Chicago) who will be awarded Mastership of the College at the Convocation ceremony during ACP Internal Medicine 2016. To be considered for Mastership, the candidate must have made a notable contribution to medicine. This includes but is not limited to teaching, outstanding work in clinical medicine (research or practice), contributions to preventive medicine, improvements in the delivery of health care, or contributions to medical literature.

2016 Internal Medicine Abstract Competition Winners

Special congratulations to:

  • C. Roberto Simons-Linares, MD, from John H Stroger Jr Hospital Cook County of Chicago, who was a winner in the Resident/Fellow Clinical Research Poster category at the Internal Medicine 2016 Abstract Competition. The poster title was "Does the Etiology of Acute Pancreatitis Matter? Analysis of a Large Database."
  • Hanna Erickson, from University of Illinois College of Medicine of Chicago, who was a winner in the Medical Student Clinical Research Poster category at the Internal Medicine 2016 Abstract Competition. The poster title was "A Scaffolding Protein, IQGAP1, is Crucial to Protect the Liver from Injury."

Congratulations to Our New Fellows

View the full list of new Fellows who were elected in the past 6 months

Chapter Member Elected to National Council

Kudos to Gaurav Jain from the SIU School of Medicine who was recently elected to serve ACP's National Council of Associates as the Midwestern Region Representative. His two-year term started in April 2012. We wish him well in this new leadership role!

The Illinois Chapter would like to thank the following member for recruiting their colleagues as part of ACP's Recruit-a-Colleague program:

  • Marie T Brown, MD FACP
  • Melody A Christians, MD FACP

If you have any current news to share about yourself or a colleague that we can celebrate, please send it along to the Governors, Suja Mathew, MD, FACP and Janet Jokela, MD, FACP.