You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Member News

2 Members Receive National Awards

(May 2021) Two members were recognized at the Internal Medicine Meeting 2021 for national awards spanning the last 2 years. Congratulations to Edem S. Agamah, MD, FACP, who received the 2021 Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service Award and Franklin B. Saksena, MD, FACP, who received the 2019-2020 Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award of the American College of Physicians.

2 ILN Members win in Resident/Fellow Abstract Competition at the Internal Medicine Meeting 2021

(May 2021) Congratulations to the following ILN members who receives awards for their abstracts:

  • Waddah Malas, MD - Economic Disparities Increase Cardiovascular Risk in African American Women: Results from the 10,000 Women Study
  • Shil Punatar, DO - Telemedicine Education Amidst COVID-19: Review of Literature and Call to Action

ILN and ILS Chapters honor Laureate Award winners

(February 2021) On February 17, 2021, the Illinois Chapters honored the 2020 Laureate Award winners in an online celebration. The Laureate is the highest award bestowed at the Chapter level. Laureate Award recipients are ACP Chapter members who have demonstrated, by their example and conduct, an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, or research and in service to their community, their Chapter, and the American College of Physicians.

2020 Laureate Award winners:
ILN - Dr. Scott Yen and Dr. Sean Greenhalgh
ILS - Dr. Emily Horvath and Dr. James Kumar

2 Members selected for advancement to Mastership - 2020

(May 2020) Congratulations to Meenakshy K. Aiyer, MBBS, MACP (Peoria) and Vineet Arora, MD, MACP (Chicago) who have been awarded Mastership of the College. To be considered for Mastership, the candidate must have made a notable contribution to medicine. This includes but is not limited to teaching, outstanding work in clinical medicine (research or practice), contributions to preventive medicine, improvements in the delivery of health care, or contributions to medical literature.

2020 Internal Medicine Abstract Competition Winners

(May 2020) Special congratulations to:

  • Christopher R. Manzella, who was a winner in the Medical Student Clinical Vignette category at the Internal Medicine 2020 Abstract Competition. The poster title was "Late-Onset Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Presenting with Lupus Pneumonitis."
  • Andrew Mudreac, who was a winner in the Medical Student High Value Care category at the Internal Medicine 2020 Abstract Competition. The poster title was "Influence of Default Order Sentence Standardization on the Prescribing Patterns of Hydrocodone-Acetaminophen Combination Products."

Illinois Southern 2020 Competition Winners

ACP ILS Oral Clinical Vignette Winners

1st Srijan Valasapalli - Carle Foundation 
2nd Sanjivani Sathe - Carle Foundation 
3rd Ruby Maini SIU School of Medicine

Resident Poster Winners

1st Clinical Vignette Rose Chisenga-UICOMP
2nd Clinical Vignette TIE
Morton Machir
 Southern Illinois University
Abuzar Asif UICOMP
3rd Clinical Vignette Anusha Chidharla UICOMP
1st Research Joseph Norton UICOMP 
2nd Research Muhammad Asghar UICOMP
3rd Research Hasan Shoaib UICOMP

Medical Student Poster Winners

1st Jared Hendren-Southern Illinois University 
2nd Shahnoor Amin-Carle Illinois College of Medicine
3rd Matthew Lee-Carle Illinois College of Medicine

If you have any current news to share about yourself or a colleague that we can celebrate, please send it along to Colleen Keeku, Executive Director.