You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Georgia Past Awardees

Georgia Past Awardees

Laureate Award
1988 Carter Smith, Sr., MD, MACP
1988 Bill Waters, III, MD, FACP
The following two members won Laureate awards either in 1989 or 1990, specific year
• Paul Jurgensen, MD
• Ralph Murphy, MD
1991 Waddell Barnes, MD
1991 Linton H. Bishop, Jr., MD, FACP
1992 Tully T. Blalock, MD, FACP
1993 Robert Copeland, MD, MACP 1994 Joseph M. Turner, MD, MACP
1994 Joseph M. Turner, MD, MACP
1995 Charles E. Harrison, Jr., MD, FACP
1996 Louis L. Battey, MD, FACP
1997 Benjamin B. Okel, MD, FACP
1998 Charles B. Upshaw, Jr., MD, FACP
1999 Mark E. Silverman, MD, FACP
2000 Sandra Adamson Fryhofer, MD, MACP
2001 Joel D. Todino, MD, FACP
2002 Vincent M. Nicolais, MD, FACP
2003 Joseph W. Stubbs, MD, FACP
2004 Barry D. Silverman, MD, FACP
2005 J. Leonard Lichtenfeld , MD , FACP
2006 Robert J. Di Benedetto, MD, FACP
2007 Jacqueline W Fincher, MD FACP
2008 Ruth-Marie E Fincher, MD MACP
2009 Evan B Weisman, MD FACP
2010 Walter J. Moore, MD, FACP
2010 Henry M Patton, MD FACP
2011 Joyce Doyle, MD, FACP
2012 T. Andrew Albritton, MD, FACP
2013 Edwin Grimsley, MD FACP
2014 Brian J. Ribeiro, MD, FACP
2015 Emmett J. Doerr, MS, MD, FACP
2016 Clyde Watkins Jr., MD FACP
2017 W. Cody McClatchey, MD, FACP
2018 Lisa B. Bernstein, MD, FACP 

J. Willis Hurst Outstanding Bedside Teacher Award
1992 Robert J. Di Benedetto, MD
2005 John F. Fisher, MD, FACP
2006 John A. Hudson, MD, FACP
2007 Chinedu C Ivonye, MBBS FACP
2008 Lisa Bernstein, MD
2009 Jeffrey L Stephens, MD FACP
2012 Stacy M. Higgins, MD, FACP
2013 Steven L Carpenter, MD FACP
2014 Joyce A. Akwe, MD, MPH, FACP
2015 George Waldon Garriss, MD, MACP
2016 Edward Chin MD FACP
2017 George Allen Tindol, Jr MD FACP
2018 Bhavin Adhyaru, MS, MD, FACP

Volunteerism and Community Service Award
2003 Jacqueline W Fincher, MD, FACP
2005 Ruth M. Parker, MD, FACP
2006 Richard D. Levere, MD
2007 Jada C. Bussey-Jones, MD
2008 Henry M Patton, MD FACP
2009 Stacy M Higgins, MD FACP
2010 Joyce A Akwe, MD
2011 David Bosshardt, MD, FACP
2013 Tia Bingham
2013 Peter Daniel
2013 Danielle Jones, MD, FACP
2013 Marilyn Lavallee, MD
2013 Dipak Vashi, MD
2014 Robert A. Campbell, MD
2015 Maura George, MD
2015 William H. Salazar, MD, FACP, FAACH
2017 Teresa E. Clark, MD, FACP
2018 A. Fred Young, MD, FACP

Leadership Award
2005 Julie L. Gerberding, MD, FACP
2006 R. Kirby Godsey, PhD
2007 Hamilton Jordan Sr.
2008 James A Hotz, MD
2009 Senator Don Thomas, MD
2011 Robert B. Copeland, MD, MACP
2012 Stephen J. Woods
2013 William T. Branch, MD, MACP
2014 Ruth-Marie E. Fincher, MD, FACP
2015 Rep Sharon Cooper
2016 Spurgeon William Clark III, MD
2017 H. Kenneth Walker, MD, MACP
2018 Donald J. Palmisano, Jr.

Community Based Teaching Award
2005 James A. Hotz, MD
2005 Henry M. Patton, MD, FACP
2006 John Timothy Cope, MD
2007 Barry D Silverman, MD FACP
2009 Gregory M Rogers, MD
2012 Tom Bledsoe, MD
2012 Richard Goodjoin, MD
2012 Kevin Lanclos, MD
2012 Clyde Watkins, MD, FACP
2014 Mary T. Bond, MD, FACP
2014 Donna W. Whitfield, MD, FACP
2014 Cynthia McCaleb, MD
2017 Wentzelle K. Kitchens, MD
2018 Jean Chin, MD, FACP

Outstanding Resident in Volunteerism and Advocacy
2009 Kharia J Holmes
2014 Edward Fatahov, MD
2016 Deep Shah MD
2016 Lavanya Viswanathan MD MS
2017 Robert Heinl IV, MD
2018 Akanksha Vaidya, MD
2018 Koosh Desai, MD

Outstanding Medical Student in Volunteerism and Advocacy
2009 Sandra Francis-Rogers, MD
2014 Jonathon D. Gillig
2014 Sandra Elizabeth Stepp
2015 Ashruta Patel
2015 Harika Gorti
2015 Parth Desai
2016 Anna Sulimirski
2017 Chelsea Fechter
2018 Agreen Hadadi
2018 Cinthana Kandasamy

Mark Silverman Award
2010 Mark E Silverman, MD MACP
2012 Joyce P. Doyle, MD, FACP
2013 Robin Klein MD
2014 Lisa B. Bernstein, MD, FACP
2015 Danny Allen Newman, Jr., MD, FACP
2016 Ned Wilson Holland MD FACP
2017 Eva Rimler, MD, FACP
2018 Joyce Awke, MD, FACP